Six Nations 2014: Scotland call up Dougie Fife and Chris Fusaro

Edinburgh winger Dougie Fife

Edinburgh winger Dougie Fife is one of two uncapped players in Scotland's 36-man squad for the Six Nations campaign.

Glasgow Warriors flanker Chris Fusaro is also included by Scotland head coach Scott Johnson.

Johnson, who said Fusaro was "terrific" in Glasgow's Heineken Cup win at Exeter on Saturday, added: "We've been watching Dougie closely."

The squad contains 16 players from Glasgow Warriors, 11 from Edinburgh and nine who play in England and France.

While Fusaro has been involved in previous national squads, it is a first call-up for Fife, with Johnson saying he "deserves his selection".

"He's worked hard over the last 12 months, from being part of the A squad this time last year to becoming a first-choice selection at Edinburgh Rugby and a proven try scorer in the Rabo," said the coach.

"We do have competition in the back row and there are other players knocking on the door who may feature for the Scotland A team against England Saxons at the end of this month.

"Chris Fusaro had a terrific game in the Heineken Cup at the weekend and I've been impressed by just how explosive some of our back-row contenders have been in their club sides."

Johnson said his squad is for next week's training, which will take place primarily at the Heriot-Watt University campus on the outskirts of Edinburgh.

"We will announce an A squad next week for the match against England Saxons at Scotstoun at the end of the month," he said.

"As I see it, a number of players could yet force their way into the senior squad during the Six Nations."

Missing from the group are injured Glasgow duo Alastair Kellock and Peter Horne, Edinburgh's Tim Visser and Worcester's Euan Murray.

Scrum-half Henry Pyrgos drops out of the squad altogether after Johnson named only two number nines - Glasgow club-mate Chris Cusiter and Edinburgh's Greig Laidlaw.

Scotland squad

Forwards: John Beattie (Montpellier), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross, David Denton, Alasdair Dickinson, Ross Ford (all Edinburgh Rugby), Chris Fusaro (Glasgow Warriors), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), Ryan Grant, Jonny Gray (both Glasgow Warriors), Richie Gray (Castres), Jim Hamilton (Montpellier), Robert Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons), Kieran Low (London Irish), Moray Low, Pat MacArthur (both Glasgow Warriors), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh Rugby) Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan), Tim Swinson and Ryan Wilson (both Glasgow Warriors).

Backs: Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh Rugby), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Max Evans (Castres), Dougie Fife (Edinburgh Rugby), Stuart Hogg, Ruaridh Jackson, Sean Lamont (all Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby), Sean Maitland (Glasgow Warriors), Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens), Greig Tonks (Edinburgh Rugby) and Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors).

Injured list: Al Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors), Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors) and Tim Visser (Edinburgh Rugby).

Top Stories