2014 Six Nations: Wales U20 43-15 Scotland U20

Josh Adams

Wales Under-20 scores seven tries as they bounced back from a 67-7 thrashing by England to comfortably beat Scotland U20 at Eirias Park, Colwyn Way.

Visiting full-back Damien Hoyland struck early and Gavin Lowe converted.

But by the time Jamie Farndale scored Scotland's second, Wales had crossed for their tries.

Jack Dixon, a penalty try, Will Boyde, James Benjamin, Josh Adams, Tomos Williams and Steffan Hughes went over for Wales.

Angus O'Brien converted two of the hosts' touchdowns, as did replacement Luke Price.

Scotland's extra points came from fly-half Gavin Lowe.

The win gave Byron Hayward's side third in the final junior tournament table behind winners France U20 and second-placed England U20.

Italy U20 finished fourth and winless Scotland U20 were bottom.


Wales Under-20: Ashley Evans (Ospreys); Tyler Morgan (Dragons), Steffan Hughes (capt, Scarlets), Jack Dixon (Dragons), Joshua Adams (Scarlets); Angus O'Brien (Dragons), Luc Jones (Dragons); Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Scott Otten (Ospreys), Nicky Thomas (Ospreys), Ben Roach (Blues), Joe Davies (Dragons), Olly Cracknell (RGC), James Benjamin (Dragons), Will Boyde (Carmarthen).

Replacements: Elliot Dee (Dragons), Leon Crump (Blues), Benjamin Leung (Scarlets), Scott Andrews (Dragons), Ollie Griffiths (Dragons), Tom Williams (Blues), Luke Price (Ospreys), Harri Evans (RGC).

Scotland Under-20: Damien Hoyland (Melrose); Jamie Farndale (Edinburgh Rugby), Blair Hutchison (Loughborough University), Ruairidh Young (Edinburgh Accies), Sam Pecqueur (Edinburgh Accies); Gavin Lowe (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Vellacott (Hartpury); James Malcolm (Ayr), Sam James (London Wasps), D'arcy Rae (Ayr), Andrew Cramond (Aberdeen Grammar), Lewis Carmichael (Melrose), Tommy Spinks (London Scottish), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby), Gabriel Carroll (Loughborough University).

Replacements: Isaac Miller (Loughborough University); Cameron Fenton (Howe of Fife), Phil Cringle (Edinburgh Rugby), Glen Young (Newcastle Falcons), Neil Irvine-Hess (Edinburgh Rugby), Sean Yacoubian (Glasgow Hawks), George Horne (Currie), Angus Rennie (Aberdeen Grammar).

Top Stories