Pro12: Leinster 62-7 Treviso

Devin Toner and Robert Barbieri
Devin Toner and Robert Barbieri

Leinster ran in nine tries as they trounced Italian visitors Treviso in a one-sided Pro12 contest at the RDS.

Jordi Murphy, Sean Cronin, Cian Healy and Zane Kirchner touched down in the first half as the Irish side dominated.

Dominic Ryan, Noel Reid (2), Jamie Heaslip and Jack McGrath added second-half tries, with Jimmy Gopperth kicking seven conversions and a penalty.

Mat Berquist converted a penalty try for Treviso but Leinster strengthen their position at the top of the table.

Leinster's biggest win of the season banished the memory of recent defeats to Toulon and the Ospreys and enhanced greatly their prospects of a home semi-final.

The Irish province had the bonus point in the bag after little over 25 minutes thanks to those tries from Murphy, Cronin, Healy and Kirchner.

The second-from-bottom Italian outfit responded with a penalty try for a 29-7 interval deficit, with Leinster's sloppiness punished by yellow cards for Isaac Boss and McGrath.

But they thoroughly dominated the final quarter as Ryan and Noel Reid added further tries, captain Heaslip and Luke McGrath both scored while Angelo Esposito was in the sin-bin and Reid finished off the rout in injury-time.

An early chunk of possession yielded a fifth-minute penalty for Leinster and Gopperth, who kicked 17 points in all, fired over from the kicking tee.

Heaslip and man-of-the-match Darragh Fanning then provided the momentum off a scrum on the 22, and Rob Kearney's inviting pass back inside sent Murphy over in the right corner.

Gopperth missed the conversion but was able to add the extras to Cronin's 15th-minute effort, the hooker racing clear from 40 metres out after Paul Derbyshire's lineout tap-down bounced up into his arms.

Cian Healy scored one of Leinster's first-half tries
Cian Healy scored one of Leinster's first-half tries

A horrible aerial collision between Christian Loamanu and Kirchner saw the Treviso centre come off worst. Play was held up for over 10 minutes before he was carried off on a stretcher.

Leinster held onto their momentum, though, and, after Devin Toner went close, Healy swatted away Mat Berquist's challenge to reach over under the posts. Gopperth converted for a 22-0 lead.

A vintage Brian O'Driscoll break from deep might have led to the province's bonus-point score, but the move broke down between the supporting Reid and Kearney.

The fourth try arrived soon after, when another textbook support line saw Gopperth feed Kirchner and the winger stepped off his left to go over close to the posts.

The visitors were awarded a penalty try just before the break, as Tobie Botes' opposite number Boss came in at the side of a maul to prevent a certain try for Robert Barbieri.

Referee Neil Paterson opted to bin Boss for 'cynical' play, and Berquist's conversion closed the gap to 22 points.

Treviso forced the issue for most of the third quarter and the hosts suffered a second yellow card with replacement prop McGrath penalised for kicking a ruck ball out of Botes' hands.

But they were back on course when flanker Ryan slipped around the side of a maul to score from close range. Gopperth's conversion came back off the left-hand upright.

Try number six followed in the 68th minute as clean lineout ball sent replacement scrum-half Luke McGrath darting through a midfield gap and he passed for centre Reid to finish off.

Treviso winger Esposito then saw yellow for taking Kearney out in the air and Leinster showed no mercy as Heaslip galloped clear for a well-deserved try.

They passed the half-century when Ruddock broke from a maul and offloaded in perfect time for young McGrath to score his first try for his home province.

Gopperth converted and also topped off Reid's breakaway effort in injury time, which was the product of some terrific interplay between himself and the tireless Heaslip.

Leinster: R Kearney; Z Kirchner, B O'Driscoll, N Reid, D Fanning; J Gopperth, I Boss; C Healy, S Cronin, M Moore; D Toner, M McCarthy; R Ruddock, J Murphy, J Heaslip.

Replacements: R Strauss, J McGrath, M Bent, T Denton, D Ryan, L McGrath, I Madigan, B Macken.

Treviso: McLean, Nitoglia, Campagnaro, Loamanu, Esposito, Berquist, Botes, Muccignat, Ghiraldini, Cittadini, Fuser, Bernabo, Filippucci, Derbyshire, Barbieri.

Replacements: Maistri, Fernandez-Rouyet, Di Santo, Pavanello, Budd, Semenzato, Ambrosini, Williams.

Top Stories