Vereniki Goneva wins Players' Player of the Year award

Vereniki Goneva

Leicester Tigers winger Vereniki Goneva has been crowned the Players' Player of the Year at the Rugby Players' Association awards.

The 30-year-old Fijian scored 12 tries in 18 Premiership matches last season.

Bath fly-half George Ford won the Young Player of the Year, while Harlequins full-back Mike Brown and Thurrock centre Rachael Burford are men's and women's England Players of the year.

"This is an extremely proud and happy moment for me," Goneva said.

"There are so many other fantastic players in the Aviva Premiership, so I feel very humbled to be named ahead of them.

"When I first arrived in England [in 2012], I never thought I would win such a big award, so it means an awful lot to me. I would like to thank my family and friends as well as all my Leicester Tigers team-mates and coaches."

Goneva, who can also play at centre, signed a new contract with Leicester last month.

Ford, 21, has had an impressive season but his attempts to establish himself in the England team during the tour of New Zealand this summer could be in jeopardy because of a shoulder injury.

The RPA Computacenter Players' Awards 2014 winners:

Computacenter Players' Player of the Year 2014:

Winner: Vereniki Goneva - Leicester Tigers

2nd Place: Mike Brown - Harlequins

3rd Place: Chris Pennell - Worcester Warriors

LV= Young Player of the Year 2014

Winner: George Ford - Bath Rugby

2nd Place: Billy Vunipola - Saracens

3rd Place: Jack Nowell - Exeter Chiefs

England Player of the Year 2014 in association with Rhead Group

Winner: Mike Brown - Harlequins

HSBC England Sevens Player of the Year 2014

Winner: Tom Mitchell

The Sunday Times England Women's Player of the Year 2014

Winner: Rachael Burford

Championship Player of the Year 2014 in association with the RFU

Winner: Juan Pablo Socino - Rotherham Titans

TAG Heuer Special Merit Award

Winner: Steve Borthwick

RPA Blyth Spirit Award in association with Towergate Insurance

Winner: Richard Parks

The RPA Hall of Fame Induction in association with KPMG

Winner: Jonathan Davies

Top Stories