Bristol: Iain Grieve one of 21 to leave Championship club

Iain Grieve

Bristol have confirmed 21 players are leaving following their unsuccessful Championship play-off campaign.

Ex-captain Iain Grieve and England U20 skipper Callum Braley head the list.

Tristan Roberts, Redford Pennycook, Bryan Rennie, Will Davis, Sammy Speight, Ollie Hayes, Steve Uren, Bruce Douglas, Adam D'Arcy and Rupert Freestone have also been released.

Bristol had already confirmed George Watkins, Adam Hughes and Ruki Tipuna were joining other clubs.

Full-back Watkins has signed for Cardiff Blues, winger Hughes is joining Exeter Chiefs while scrum-half Tipuna will move to Newcastle Falcons.

James Grindal is to retire from the game, along with Mariano Sambucetti and James Merriman, while Stuart McInally has returned to his parent club Edinburgh following the conclusion of his loan spell.

Centre Fautua Otto and back Errie Claassens was released early from their contracts in May.

Bristol reached the Championship final this year, after finishing top of the table by eight points, but failed to beat London Welsh over two legs.

Top Stories