Bryan Habana departs as South Africa cut squad for Scotland Test

Bryan Habana
Bryan Habana is only three matches away from a century of caps for the Springboks

South Africa have released seven overseas-based players ahead of next Saturday's Test against Scotland.

Experienced lock Bakkies Botha and flying winger Bryan Habana are among those leaving the squad after a 2-0 series win over Wales.

Gurthro Steenkamp, Schalk Brits, Francois Louw, Morne Steyn and Wynand Olivier also depart.

Fly-half Handre Pollard and hooker Adriaan Strauss, who returns from suspension, are called up.

The Springboks eased to a 38-16 victory over Wales in Durban but had to battle back in the final minutes to seal a thrilling 31-30 success in Nelspruit on Saturday.

Scotland arrive in Port Elizabeth for the final match of their summer tour, having beaten USA, Canada and Argentina.

South Africa squad:

Forwards: Willem Alberts (Sharks), Schalk Burger (Stormers), Marcell Coetzee (Sharks), Lodewyk de Jager (Cheetahs), Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks), Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), Siya Kolisi (Stormers), Victor Matfield (Bulls), Teboho Mohoje (Cheetahs), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs), Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs), Flip van der Merwe (Bulls), Marcel van der Merwe (Bulls), Duane Vermeulen (Stormers), Callie Visagie (Bulls)

Backs: Fourie du Preez (Suntory), JJ Engelbrecht (Bulls), Johan Goosen (Cheetahs), Cornal Hendricks (Cheetahs), Francois Hougaard (Bulls), Zane Kirchner (Leinster), Willie le Roux (Cheetahs), Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster), JP Pietersen (Sharks), Handre Pollard (Bulls), Jan Serfontein (Bulls), S'bura Sithole (Sharks), Frans Steyn (Sharks)