Pro12: Benetton Treviso 23-40 Glasgow Warriors

Tom Ryder in action for Glasgow Warriors A against Edinburgh
Tom Ryder returned to the Glasgow first team as a replacement last week.
Treviso (16) 23
Tries: Campagnaro 2 Cons: Carlisle, Hayward Pens: Carlisle 3
Glasgow (19) 40
Tries: Seymour 2, Holmes, Eddie, Van der Merwe, Lamont Cons: Weir 3, Russell 2

Tommy Seymour scored two tries as Glasgow moved to the top of the Pro 12 with a bonus-point victory over Treviso at the Stadio Comunale di Monigo.

Glasgow came from 10-0 down to win and have leapfrogged Ospreys at the top of the overall standings after they ran in six tries to secure the bonus point.

Tyrone Holmes, James Eddie, DTH van der Merwe and Sean Lamont joined Seymour in crossing the whitewash.

Duncan Weir kicked three conversions and Finn Russell two.

Fly-half Joe Carlisle opened the scoring with a penalty for Treviso in the first minute before Michele Campagnaro scored the first of his two tries, which Carlisle converted as the hosts moved into double figures before the 10-minute mark.

Seymour scored his first four minutes later but Weir missed the conversion, before Holmes levelled the score at 10-10 when he crossed in the 23rd minute.

Weir converted before Seymour's second plus the extras put Glasgow ahead, although Carlisle closed the gap to 19-16 at half time with two more penalties.

Eddie crossed for a converted try 10 minutes into the second period and after that the visitors did not look back, moving 40-16 ahead after converted scores from Van der Merwe and Lamont.

Campagnaro crossed in the corner for his second to give the home side a glimmer of hope, with Jayden Hayward converting, but that was to be the last score of the game as the Scots eased to victory.

Benetton Treviso: Jayden Hayward, Angelo Esposito, Michele Campagnaro, Luca Morisi, Ludovico Nitoglia, Joe Carlisle, Edoardo Gori, Mat Luamanu, Marco Lazzaroni, Simone Favaro, Marco Fuser, Antonio Pavanello (captain), Rupert Harden, Davide Giazzon, Matteo Muccignat. Replacements: Giovanni Maistri, Matteo Zanusso, Romulo Acosta, Francesco Minto, Leo Auva'a, Marco Barbini, Sam Christie, Alberto Lucchese.

Glasgow Warriors: Stuart Hogg, Tommy Seymour, Sean Lamont, Peter Horne, DTH van der Merwe, Duncan Weir, Niko Matawalu, Alex Allan, Pat MacArthur, Rossouw de Klerk, Tom Ryder, Al Kellock (captain), James Eddie, Tyrone Holmes, Josh Strauss. Replacements: Fraser Brown, Jerry Yanuyanutawa, Zander Fagerson, Leone Nakarawa, Chris Fusaro, Ali Price, Finn Russell, James Downey.

Referee: Gary Conway (Ireland).

Top Stories