Rugby Championship: Argentina 21-17 Australia

Argentina's Leonardo Senatore
Argentina had not won for almost a year
Argentina (8) 21
Tries: Senatore, Imhoff Con: Sanchez Penalties: Sanchez 3
Australia (14) 17
Tries: Kuridrani, Higginbotham Cons: Foley Penalty: Foley

Argentina came from 14-0 down to defeat Australia and earn their first win since joining the Rugby Championship.

The Wallabies struggled for discipline and had both Nick Phipps and captain Michael Hooper sin-binned in Mendoza.

Although tries from Tevita Kuridrani and Scott Higginbotham gave them an early advantage, Leonardo Senatore's try cut the deficit before half-time.

Argentina took the lead thanks to Juan Imhoff's converted try on 53 minutes and maintained their advantage after.

Australia's Bernard Foley hit the post with a penalty with 10 minutes to go, although his cause was not helped by a laser pen aimed at his face as he teed up the attempt.

Nicolas Sanchez kicked a penalty with six minutes to go after Hooper was sin-binned and the Wallabies were unable to find the try they needed in the closing stages.

The Pumas' first win in 18 Rugby Championship matches was also their first over Australia since 1997 and ended an eight-match losing streak.

Argentina: Joaquín Tuculet; Juan Imhoff, Horacio Agulla, Juan Martín Hernandez, Luis Gonzalez Amorosino; Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo; Leonardo Senatore, Benjamín Macome, Rodrigo Baez; Tomas Lavanini, Mariano Galarza; Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Agustín Creevy (capt), Marcos Ayerza

Replacements: Matías Cortese, Bruno Postiglioni, Ramiro Herrera, Matías Alemanno, Javier Ortega Desio, Tomas Cubelli, Marcelo Bosch, Jeronimo de la Fuente

Australia: Israel Folau; Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani, Matt Toomua, Joe Tomane; Bernard Foley, Nick Phipps; Scott Higginbotham, Michael Hooper (capt), Scott Fardy; James Horwill, Sam Carter; Sekope Kepu, Saia Fainga'a, James Slipper

Replacements: Josh Mann-Rea, Benn Robinson, Ben Alexander, Will Skelton, Jake Schatz, Matt Hodgson, Nic White, Rob Horne

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wal)

2014 Rugby Championship
16 August: Australia 12-12 New Zealand, South Africa 13-6 Argentina13 September: New Zealand 14-10 South Africa, Australia 32-25 Argentina
23 August: New Zealand 51-20 Australia, Argentina 31-33 South Africa27 September: South Africa 28-10 Australia, Argentina 13-34 New Zealand
6 September: New Zealand 28-9 Argentina, Australia 24-23 South Africa4 October: South Africa 27-25 New Zealand, Argentina 21-17 Australia