Dan Carter in New Zealand squad for northern hemisphere tour

Dan Carter
Carter has been in action for club side Canterbury as he comes back from a broken leg

Record Test points-scorer Dan Carter is included a 34-man New Zealand squad for their tour of the northern hemisphere.

The 32-year-old took a six-month sabbatical from the sport in November and then broke his leg in August.

Sonny Bill Williams is also included after less than a full game since his return to union following two seasons in Australia's National Rugby League.

The All Blacks face the USA in Chicago on 1 November, before Tests against England, Scotland and Wales.

Carter, who has 1,442 points from 100 Tests, replaces Colin Slade, who kicked the match-winning conversion in the 29-28 Bledisloe Cup victory over Australia on Saturday - but All Blacks coach Steve Hansen explained Slade could be recalled if Carter struggled in training.

"We'll monitor [Carter] this week and get an idea of where he's likely to be," he said. "If he can't make this trip because of his leg then Colin Slade will come back in.

"He's been training without being able to play because he's had a bit of nerve damage to the leg he broke. But he's getting better and better all the time and he's extremely confident of being able to play."

All Blacks northern hemisphere Tests
1 November USA, Soldier Field (Chicago)8 November England, Twickenham
15 November Scotland, Murrayfield22 November Wales, Millennium Stadium

Lock Luke Romano is named in the touring party despite breaking his leg in Super Rugby and not playing for five months.

Also included is fly-half Aaron Cruden, who was suspended for two matches after missing a team flight to Argentina last month following a night out drinking.

Cruden was brought back into the squad for the final Bledisloe Cup match in Brisbane but not named in the matchday team, with Beauden Barrett selected at number 10 and Slade on the bench.

New Zealand tour squad:

Backs: Israel Dagg, Ben Smith, Charles Piutau, Cory Jane, Julian Savea, Malakai Fekitoa, Conrad Smith, Sonny Bill Williams, Ryan Crotty, Dan Carter, Beauden Barrett, Aaron Cruden, Aaron Smith, TJ Perenara, Augustine Pulu.

Forwards: Kieran Read, Richie McCaw (captain), Sam Cane, Jerome Kaino, Liam Messam, Victor Vito, Patrick Tuipulotu, Brodie Retallick, Jeremy Thrush, Luke Romano, Sam Whitelock, Ben Franks, Owen Franks, Charlie Faumuina, Joe Moody, Wyatt Crockett, Dane Coles, Keven Mealamu, Nathan Harris.