Jared Payne named in Ireland November internationals squad

Jared Payne joined Ulster in 2011
Jared Payne missed most of his first season with Ulster in 2011-12 through injury

Ulster utility back Jared Payne has been named in a 37-man Ireland squad for the November internationals.

New Zealand-born Payne is available to coach Joe Schmidt's squad for the first time after becoming Irish-qualified through the three-year residency rule.

The other uncapped players selected are Connacht pair Darragh Leader and Nathan White, Munster lock Dave Foley and Leinster flanker Dominic Ryan.

Ireland face South Africa, Georgia and Australia at Dublin's Aviva Stadium.

Ulster fly-half Paddy Jackson has failed to make the cut, with Schmidt opting for Ian Keatley and Ian Madigan as back-up to Jonathan Sexton, who has overcome a broken jaw sustained at the end of August while playing for Racing Metro in time to take his place in the panel.

Payne is one of a number of players mooted as a potential replacement for Irish legend Brian O'Driscoll, who retired at the end of last season.

Among the other players available for the autumn series, Connacht's Robbie Henshaw looks the other likely contender for the number 13 shirt, although British and Irish Lion Tommy Bowe may also come into the reckoning.

Stuart Olding
Ulster's Stuart Olding will hope to add to his one senior Ireland cap during the autumn series

Stuart Olding has started the new campaign in fine form with Ulster however, and could also force his way into contention.

Connacht's impressive early-season form is reflected in first call-ups for full-back Leader and prop White, another New Zealand import.

Schmidt and assistant Les Kiss have been forced to plan without a host of players who are absent through injury.

Backs Keith Earls, Dave Kearney, Luke Marshall, Fergus McFadden and Andrew Trimble are all missing, while Luke Fitzgerald is continuing his recovery and return to action after injury.

Among the forwards, Cian Healy, Damien Varley, Marty Moore, Mike Sherry, Iain Henderson, Donnacha Ryan, Dan Tuohy, Sean O'Brien and Jordi Murphy are ruled out.

Ireland will again be captained by second row Paul O'Connell for the series, which begins with a stern test against South Africa on 8 November.

Georgia are the visitors to Dublin on 16 November and then the Irish will try to avenge last year' defeat by Australia when they play the Wallabies on 23 November.

Ireland 37-man squad for November internationals:Forwards: Stephen Archer (Munster), Rodney Ah You (Connacht), Rory Best (Ulster), James Cronin (Munster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Robbie Diack (Ulster), Dave Foley (Munster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Dave Kilcoyne (Munster), Mike McCarthy (Leinster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Paul O'Connell (capt) (Munster), Tommy O'Donnell (Munster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster), Dominic Ryan (Leinster), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Nathan White (Connacht).

Backs: Tommy Bowe (Ulster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Felix Jones (Munster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Ian Keatley (Munster), Darragh Leader (Connacht), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Conor Murray (Munster), Stuart Olding (Ulster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Johnny Sexton (Racing Metro), Simon Zebo (Munster).

Top Stories