South Africa: Five new caps in Springboks squad

Ruan Pienaar
Ruan Pienaar was injured in New Zealand's 14-10 Championship victory on 14 September

Five uncapped players have been named in the South Africa squad for the four-Test tour of the northern hemisphere.

Forwards Robbie Coetzee, Julian Redelinghuys, Nizaam Carr, Jaco Kriel and wing Seabelo Senatla are the newcomers in the 36-man party.

Prop Coenie Oosthuizen and back Johan Goosen are also recalled after missing the Rugby Championship.

Ulster scrum-half Ruan Pienaar, who suffered a knee injury playing for South Africa in September, is included.

The Springboks meet Ireland on 8 November before games against England, Italy and Wales.

Coach Heyneke Meyer said: "It's wonderful to have this kind of continuity in selection, while the five uncapped players in the squad have all been rewarded for superb form throughout the season."

South Africa squad for northern hemisphere tour
PlayerPositionTest caps
Bakkies BothaLock83
Schalk BurgerLoose forward73
Nizaam CarrLoose forward0
Marcell CoetzeeLoose forward22
Robbie CoetzeeHooker0
Damian De AllendeCentre/wing2
Lodewyk de JagerLock7
Jean de Villiers (captain)Centre102
Bismarck du PlessisHooker66
Jannie du PlessisProp60
Eben EtzebethLock29
Johan GoosenFull-back/fly-half5
Bryan HabanaWing103
Cornal HendricksWing9
Francois HougaardScrumhalf32
Jaco KrielLoose forward0
Patrick LambieFly-half/full-back36
Willie le RouxFull-back/wing21
Victor MatfieldLock117
Teboho "Oupa" MohojeLoose forward 3
Tendai MtawariraProp61
Lwazi MvovoWing9
Trevor NyakaneProp9
Coenie OosthuizenProp17
Ruan PienaarScrum-half80
JP PietersenCentre/wing56
Handré PollardFly-half6
Julian RedelinghuysProp0
Cobus ReinachScrum-half2
Seabelo SenatlaWing0
Jan SerfonteinCentre16
Gurthrö Steenkamp Prop52
Morné SteynFly-half59
Adriaan StraussHooker40
Duane VermeulenNo 825
Warren WhiteleyLoose forward2

Top Stories