Welsh Premiership clubs join Pro Rugby Wales board

Principality Premiership clubs
Principality Premiership club players at their 2014-15 launch

Welsh Premiership clubs will join the board of Pro Rugby Wales, the organisation that represents the four Welsh regions, from January, 2015.

Pro Rugby Wales, formerly Regional Rugby Wales, was rebranded in October.

There are 12 Premiership clubs: Newport, Bridgend, Cross Keys, Ebbw Vale, Cardiff, Pontypridd, Aberavon, Neath, Bedwas, Llandovery, Carmarthen Quins and Llanelli.

Cross Keys chairman Chris Clarke will be their representative on the board.

In a statement Clarke said: "Premiership Clubs were unanimous in their support of closer links with Pro Rugby Wales and feel this opportunity acknowledges the contribution the Premiership brings to the development of past, present and future professional rugby players."

Pro Rugby Wales chief executive Mark Davies added: "While the bedrock of the game in Wales is the community clubs who provide the opportunity for young players to test themselves at all levels, it is a simple fact that the professional game in Wales can only function effectively with the active contribution of the Premiership clubs."