Pro12: Munster 28-13 Leinster

Leinster wing Dave Kearney battles with Munster try-scorer Andrew Conway
Try-scorer Andrew Conway helped Munster earn a dominant victory over his former club Leinster
Munster (11) 28
Tries: Stander, Conway, Dave O'Callaghan Cons: Keatley 2 Pens: Keatley 3
Leinster (6) 13
Tries: Jennings Cons: Madigan Pens: Madigan 2

Munster produced a hugely committed display as they beat Leinster at Thomond Park to move back to the top of the Pro12 table.

CJ Stander's first-half try helped Munster secure a first Pro12 double over their Irish rivals since 2008-09.

Ian Keatley hit six points as Munster led 11-6 at the break and tries by Andrew Conway and Dave O'Callaghan put the match beyond the visitors.

Shane Jennings scored a late Leinster try but it was not enough.

Their only smidgen of consolation from the evening was denying Munster a bonus point - as they were unable to match the home team's fire and aggression in Limerick.

Munster's pack produced a remarkable display which was built on a succession of pick and goes which allowed them to make territory at will for much of the contest.

Dave O'Callaghan scored Munster's third try against Leinster
Dave O'Callaghan runs in Munster's third try against Leinster at Thomond Park

With the home team's scrum solid throughout, they dominated at the breakdown with man of the match Stander, Tommy O'Donnell and Billy Holland all producing tremendous performances.

Munster's emphatic win ended a run of three straight defeats after Clermont Auvergne beat them twice in the European Champions Cup and Glasgow overcame them last weekend.

Keatley and Ian Madigan kicked early penalties at either end before intense Munster pressure led to Stander's 19th-minute try.

After Keatley's conversion miss, Madigan's second penalty cut that lead to 8-6, but the Munster fly-half added a further three points before half-time.

The home side took control four minutes after the restart as wing Conway finished off another mauling move by barging through some weak Leinster tackling to score.

Darragh Fanning's contentious yellow card - after he was judged to have picked the ball from out of a scrum - was punished by another three Keatley points in the 55th minute.

Dave O'Callaghan's 62nd-minute try came during Fanning's absence and Jennings' late reply represented little cheer for Matt O'Connor's well-beaten visitors.


Munster: Felix Jones (capt); Andrew Conway, Pat Howard, Denis Hurley, Ronan O'Mahony; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; John Ryan, Duncan Casey, Stephen Archer; Donncha O'Callaghan, Billy Holland, CJ Stander, Tommy O'Donnell, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Paddy Butler for Copeland 26 mins, Dave O'Callaghan for O'Donnell 50, JJ Hanrahan for Hurley 58, BJ Botha for Archer 58, Eusebio Guinazu for Ryan 64, Kevin O'Byrne for Casey 65, Johne Murphy for Jones 71, Neil Cronin for Williams 76

Leinster: Zane Kirchner; Darragh Fanning, Luke Fitzgerald, Gordon D'Arcy, Dave Kearney, Ian Madigan, Isaac Boss; Michael Bent, Richardt Strauss, Tadhg Furlong, Mike McCarthy, Kane Douglas, Dominic Ryan, Shane Jennings (capt), Jack Conan.

Replacements: Jordi Murphy for Ryan 14, Jimmy Gopperth for Fanning 64, Luke McGrath for Boss 64, Tom Denton for McCarthy 71, Aron Dundon for Strauss 71

Not used: Maks Van Dyk, Jamie Hagan, Noel Reid.

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)

Top Stories