Six Nations: Ireland call up Wilson & Holland for England game

Roger Wilson in action against the Scarlets earlier this season
Roger Wilson earned his only Ireland cap against Japan in 2005

Forwards Roger Wilson and Billy Holland have been added to the Ireland squad for Sunday's Six Nations match against England in Dublin.

Ulster back row Wilson's only full cap was back in 2005 on a tour of Japan while Munster flanker Holland is uncapped at senior international level.

They were included in a 36-man panel announced by Ireland on Tuesday.

However, it is unlikely either will feature when coach Joe Schmidt unveils his match day squad on Friday.

Schmidt's main selection issue is likely to be who he picks to replace injured number eight Jamie Heaslip.

The British & Irish Lions star has been ruled out of the England game after being kneed in the back by France's Pascal Pape in the Six Nations game on 14 February.

Heaslip's name was included in the Ireland squad announced on Tuesday but the management has emphasised that he will not feature this weekend.

"He has just come in to work with the medical team. No other reason," added Ireland team manager Mick Kearney.

"The hope would be that he will be back for the Wales game."

Lock Pape was handed a 10-week ban arising from the incident and will miss the remainder of the tournament.

Heaslip sustained three damaged vertebrae and is targeting a return to action in the game against Wales on 14 March.

The former Ireland captain missed the opening Six Nations win over Italy because of a shoulder injury when his Leinster colleague Jordi Murphy was handed the number eight shirt.

Ireland squad for England game

Forwards: Rory Best (Ulster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Billy Holland (Munster), Mike McCarthy (Leinster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Martin Moore (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Sean O'Brien (Leinster), Paul O'Connell (Munster), Tommy O'Donnell (Munster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Dominic Ryan (Leinster), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Roger Wilson (Ulster).

Backs: Isaac Boss (Leinster), Tommy Bowe (Ulster), Darren Cave (Ulster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Felix Jones (Munster), David Kearney (Leinster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Ian Keatley (Munster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92), Simon Zebo (Munster).

Top Stories