Six Nations: Jack Nowell replaces Jonny May in England squad

Jack Nowell
Jack Nowell has won five caps for England
Six Nations 2015: Ireland v England
Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin Date: Sunday, 1 March Kick-off: 15:00 GMT Coverage: Live on BBC TV, HD, Red Button, Radio 5 live, Radio Ulster FM, the BBC Sport website, mobile, the BBC Sport app and Connected TV.

Exeter's Jack Nowell is in line to start on the wing for England in Sunday's Six Nations match with Ireland in Dublin.

Nowell has replaced Gloucester's Jonny May in a 26-man training squad.

May, who started the 47-17 win over Italy, has been sent back to play for his club side.

Full-backs Alex Goode and Chris Pennell stay in the squad as cover for Mike Brown, who has suffered a setback in his recovery from concussion.

Brown, 29, was stretchered off in the first half of England's 47-17 win over Italy at Twickenham on 14 February.

Bath tighthead prop Henry Thomas will join the squad on Wednesday as injury cover for Kieran Brookes.

Highlights: England 47-17 Italy

Nowell has failed to make the squad for either of England's first two matches, both wins, having played every game on the wing in last season's tournament.

However, he inspired Exeter to a 32-21 victory over Harlequins on Saturday, prompting Chiefs head coach Rob Baxter to say it would be "very difficult" for England to overlook him.

England head coach Stuart Lancaster said: "Preparation has gone well and we've had a good build up so far.

"The guys who played against Wales and Italy did really well and the good thing is that others who are now fit and training are pushing hard for selection.

"We've had to make some tough decisions but it's a good position to be in and those players going back to their clubs have another big weekend ahead to lay down a marker for later in the tournament."

England training squad:

Forwards: Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby), Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers), Nick Easter (Harlequins), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Chris Robshaw (captain, Harlequins), Henry Thomas (Bath Rugby), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Backs: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors), Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Top Stories