Pro 12: Zebre 23 (13) - 17 (10) Newport Gwent Dragons

Ashley Smith on the attack for Newport Gwent Dragons is tackled by Zebre's Edoardo Padovani
Ashley Smith on the attack for Newport Gwent Dragons is tackled by Zebre's Edoardo Padovani
Zebre (13) 23
Tries: Jacopo Sarto, Matteo Pratichetti Cons: Mirco Bergamsco (2) Pens: Mirco Bergamasco (3)
Newport Gwent Dragons (10) 17
Tries: T. Rhys Thomas, Jack Dixon, Nic Cudd Con: Tom Prydie

Bottom-side Zebre recorded their first-ever victory over the Newport Gwent Dragons with a 23-17 win at the Stadio XXV Aprile in Parma.

Mirco Bergamasco kicked 13 points for the Italian side to help steer his side to only their third league win of the season.

Dragons twice let leads of 10-3 and 17-13 slip as they fell to their second Pro12 defeat in a row.

The Welsh side remain 10th in the table just nine points above Zebre.

Bergamasco kicked Zebre into a seventh-minute lead, but the Dragons hit back with hooker T Rhys Thomas and centre Jack Dixon crossing for tries in the space of three minutes, midway through the first half.

The hosts were soon level through flanker Jacopo Sarto's converted try.

A Bergamasco penalty gave them a 13-10 lead on the stroke of half-time following a yellow card to Dragons full-back Rhys Jones for tackling his man in the air.

Both sides were soon down to 14 men as Zebre lock Agustin Cavalieri joined Jones in the sin bin for a dangerous tackle within a minute of the restart.

Dragons flanker Nic Cudd made them pay with a try converted by Tom Prydie to put the Welsh region 17-13 ahead.

Four minutes later the Italians were back in front as Matteo Pratichetti darted through the Dragons defence and his fellow centre Bergamasco converted.

Prydie missed key kicks for the visitors in the final quarter before Bergamasco sealed victory with a last minute penalty.

Zebre: Hendrik Daniller; Dion Berryman, Mirco Bergamasco, Matteo Pratichetti, Giulio Toniolatti; Edoardo Padovani, Brendon Leonard; Andrea Lovotti, Oliviero Fabiani, Lorenzo Romano, Andrei Mahu, Augustin Cavalieri, Jacopo Sarto, Mauro Bergamasco (capt), Maxime Mbandà. Replacements: Lorenzo Giovanchelli. Andrea De Marchi, Luca Redolfini, Giacomo Bernini, Ruben Riccioli, Alberto Chillon, Federico Ruzza, David Odiete.

Dragons: Geraint Rhys Jones; Tom Prydie, Jack Dixon, Ashley Smith, Hallam Amos; Dorian Jones, Jonathan Evans; Boris Stankovich, T. Rhys Thomas, Brok Harris, Ian Gough, Cory Hill, James Thomas, Nic Cudd, Nick Crosswell. Replacements: Rhys Buckley, Lloyd Fairbrother, Dan Way, Matthew Screech, James Benjamin, Luc Jones, Matthew Pewtner, Ashton Hewitt.

Referee: Gary Conwy (IRFU)

Assistant Referees: Elia Rizzo, Stefano Penne (both FIR)

Citing Commissioner: Roberto Carra (FIR)

TMO: Stefano Roscini (FIR)