Six Nations 2015: Scotland starts for Adam Ashe and Ryan Grant

Scotland forward Adam Ashe
Adam Ashe replaces Rob Harley in the Scotland pack
RBS Six Nations: Scotland v Ireland
Venue: Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh Date: Saturday, 21 March Kick-off: 14:30 GMTCoverage: Live on BBC One, BBC Radio 5 live, BBC Radio Scotland, online, mobile, the BBC Sport app and Connected TV.

Glasgow Warriors forwards Adam Ashe and Ryan Grant will start for Scotland against Ireland as Vern Cotter makes two changes for the Six Nations finale.

Ashe will start on the blind-side flank in place of Rob Harley, while Grant replaces Alasdair Dickinson at loose-head prop for the Murrayfield game.

Both Ashe and Grant started last weekend's defeat by England at Twickenham on the bench.

It is Grant's first start of the Six Nations Championship.

Scotland, who will have eight Warriors players in their XV, have lost all four games and need a victory if they are to have any chance of avoiding the Wooden Spoon.

Head coach Cotter retains the same backline, which means Edinburgh centre Dougie Fife makes his home debut in a Scotland shirt.

Six Nations table

Tight-head Euan Murray will overtake Allan Jacobsen's record as the most-capped Scotland prop with a 66th appearance.

Forwards Blair Cowan, Jonny Gray, Ross Ford, plus centre Mark Bennett, full-back Stuart Hogg and scrum-half Greig Laidlaw, the team captain, have been ever-presents in the starting line-up during the Six Nations.

Scotland forward Ryan Grant
Glasgow Warriors forward Ryan Grant returns to the Scotland starting line-up

Wing Tim Visser is on the replacements' bench instead of number eight Johnnie Beattie.

Scotland head coach Vern Cotter said: "There is a strong culture in this group. Players want to do well and set the standards high.

"We've played with a huge amount of spirit and courage, are putting teams under pressure and are scoring tries, which is encouraging, but we want to go one better this Saturday against Ireland, last year's champions.

"Both ourselves and Ireland are hugely motivated for this game.

"Make no mistake, they are coming to Edinburgh believing they can win the title, while we will be going out there desperate to throw everything at our last championship match to win the game and repay the support of our fans."

Scotland team

Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Dougie Fife (Edinburgh), Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors), Matt Scott (Edinburgh), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Gloucester), Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Euan Murray (Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Saracens), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Cowan (London Irish), David Denton (Edinburgh).

Replacements: Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh), Geoff Cross (London Irish), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh), Greig Tonks (Edinburgh), Tim Visser (Edinburgh).

Top Stories