British & Irish Cup Final: Doncaster Knights 5-35 Worcester Warriors

Worcester centre Alex Grove
Worcester centre Alex Grove won the last of his three Scotland caps in 2010
British & Irish Cup Final, Castle Park
Doncaster (0) 5
Tries: Hunter
Worcester (29) 35
Tries: Hammond, Grove, Bruzulier, George Cons: Eden 3 Pen: Eden 3

Promotion-chasing Worcester proved too strong for Championship rivals Doncaster as they won the British and Irish Cup at Castle Park.

The Warriors, sticking with the same second-string side that has served them all the way through the competition, did the damage before the break.

Dean Hammond, Alex Grove, JB Bruzulier and Dan George scored the Warriors' four first-half tries.

Tiff Eden converted three of them as well as kicking three penalties.

British & Irish Cup winners
Worcester follow in the footsteps of Cornish Pirates (2010) and Bristol (2011) as English winners of the trophy. For the last three years, it had been in Irish hands, having been won by Munster A (2012) and Leinster A (2013 and 2014), who were knocked out by the Warriors in the semis

Hooker Ben Hunter scored Doncaster's only try 10 minutes into the second half as the home side were beaten by Worcester for the third time this season.

The Warriors return to Championship action next Saturday at home to Yorkshire Carnegie, the destination for Leeds rugby league legend Kevin Sinfield next season.

Doncaster: Jarvis; Flockhart, Catchpole, M Clark, Lewis; Fosita, Palu; T Davies, Hunter, Quigley, Hotson, Phelan, Challinor, Hills, Eggleshaw.

Replacements: List, Veikoso, Foden, John, Armitage, Roberts, Field.

Worcester Warriors: Howard; Hammond, Grove, Fatiaki, Vuna; Eden, Bruzulier (capt); Fainga'anuku, George, Rees, Percival, Sanderson, Cox, Gilbert, de Carpentier.

Replacements: Sowrey, Rapava Ruskin, Daniels, Taylor, Mulchrone, Mieres, Humphreys.

Top Stories