Rugby World Cup 2015: Nigel Owens named on referees' list

Welsh rugby referee Nigel Owens
Nigel Owens has officiated in 60 Test matches

Welsh referee Nigel Owens has been confirmed as one of the 12 referees for the 2015 Rugby World Cup which kicks off in September.

Owens, 43, is one of 12 referees selected for the tournament along with England's Wayne Barnes and JP Doyle, and South Africa's Craig Joubert, who officiated the 2011 final.

Fellow WRU official Leighton Hodges is one of seven assistant referees named.

The matches they will take charge of have not yet been allocated.

World Rugby made the selection after a comprehensive review of refereeing performances.

Chairman of the selection panel John Jeffrey congratulated the officials for their "very hard work and determination".

He added: "Since Rugby World Cup 2011, we have been focused on developing a strong panel that can preside over the 48 matches at this year's tournament.

"The fact that seven of the referee panel were involved in the 2011 tournament points to the big-match experience that they hold.

"Indeed, between the 12 of them, they have refereed no fewer than 361 internationals."

Rugby World Cup 2015 officials
RefereesAssistant refereesTelevision match officials
Jerome Garces (FFR)Angus Gardner (ARU)George Ayoub (ARU)
Pascal Gauzere (FFR)Mathieu Raynal (FFR)Graham Hughes (RFU)
Romain Poite (FFR) Marius Mitrea (FIR)Ben Skeen (NZR)
George Clancy (IRFU)Mike Fraser (NZR)Shaun Veldsman (SARU)
John Lacey (IRFU) Stuart Berry (SARU)
Glen Jackson (NZR)Federico Anselmi (UAR)
Chris Pollock (NZR) Leighton Hodges (WRU)
Wayne Barnes (RFU)
JP Doyle (RFU)
Craig Joubert (SARU)
Jaco Peyper (SARFU)
Nigel Owens (WRU)

Top Stories