Swalec Cup Final: Pontypridd 15-19 Bridgend

Swalec Cup: JPR and David on Bridgend's 1979 final win against Pontypridd

Bridgend beat Pontypridd to take the Swalec Cup final and deny their rivals a possible third successive double.

The Ravens are the only team to have beaten the Welsh Premiership's dominant side this season.

And they did so again in a tense Millennium Stadium final.

Earlier Ystrad Rhondda beat Newcastle Emlyn 25-17 to take the second-tier Plate home with Ystradgynlais winning the Bowl with a 17-12 triumph over Cambrian Welfare.

Bridgend full-back Owen Howe put Bridgend into the lead with two penalties after Simon Humberstone's opener for Pontypridd.

Aled Summerhill went over to reclaim the lead for Pontypridd.

But Howe's boot again overhauled their rivals with two more penalties before wing Tom O'Flaherty's decisive try.

O'Flaherty hacked a loose ball ahead and won the race to the line for Howe to convert.

Flanker Jake Thomas went over to give Pontypridd hope, but Bridgend held on.

Bridgend: Owen Howe; Tom O'Flaherty, Adam Williams, Ryan Evans, Mike Powell; James Dixon, Chris Williams; Gary Carpenter, Ashleigh James (capt), Jon Thomas, Henri Williams, Ben Jones, Zac O'Driscoll, Adam O'Driscoll, Andrew Waite.

Replacements: Luke O'Driscoll, Cai Lewis, Dan Kenny, Ashton Evans, Matthew Phillips, Will Baird, Liam Jones and Steve Winn.

Pontypridd: Aled Summerhill; Dale Stuckey, Gavin Dacey, Dafydd Lockyer (capt), Lewis I Williams; Simon Humberstone, Tomos Williams; James Howe, Huw Dowden, Dillon Lewis, Craig Locke, Luke Crocker, Jake Thomas, Rhys Shellard, Dan Godfrey.

Replacements: Lloyd William, Jarrod Evans, Matthew Nuthall, Liam Belcher, Wayne O'Connor, Alex Jones, Bradley Thyer, Chris Phillips.