Ireland v Barbarians: Leinster and Ulster dominate squad

Ben Marshall of Leinster
Leinster lock Ben Marshall has represented Ireland at Under-20 level

Ireland have named a 27-strong squad for Thursday's match against the Barbarians at Thomond Park in Limerick.

Leinster and Ulster players dominate, with Munster in the Pro12 final and Connacht getting over their defeat by Gloucester in European Cup qualifying.

Ulster have eight players in the squad while Joe Schmidt gives chances to Leinster youngsters Ben Marshall, Cian Kelleher and Colm O'Shea.

Chris Henry and Luke Marshall are among the Ulster inclusions.

Henry returned to Ulster duty in late March after undergoing heart surgery in November.

The Ulster suffered a mini-stroke on the morning of Ireland's Test against South Africa where he was scheduled to play and was

He later underwent heart surgery after a small hole was discovered in the organ.

Ulster centre Marshall has not played since being handed a five-match ban for kicking an opponent during the game against the Scarlets in early March.

The retiring Shane Jennings is in the Barbarians squad for his final match.

The 33-year-old flanker won three European Cups with Leinster.

Other big names in the Barbarians squad include Ulster's South African scrum-half Ruan Pienaar and Australian great George Smith who has just signed for Wasps.

Thursday's game is part of the Barbarians' summer tour. They play England at Twickenham on Sunday.

Ireland squad - forwards: M Bent, J Conan, R Diack, T Furlong, J Heaslip (cpt), C Henry, R Herring, J McGrath, B Marshall, J Murphy, M Ross, R Ruddock, R Strass, D Toner, D Tuohy.

Backs: C Gilroy, P Jackson, D Kearney, C Kelleher, S McCloskey, L McGrath, I Madigan, L Marshall, C O'Shea, E Reddan, N Reid.

Top Stories