Australia recall Matt Giteau and Drew Mitchell to training squad

Matt Giteau
Matt Giteau was left out of Australia's 2011 World Cup squad

Drew Mitchell and Matt Giteau have been included in Australia's 40-man training squad for the Rugby Championship.

The Toulon pair have not played for the Wallabies for more than three years but are back in the fold after a change in selection policy.

The Australian Rugby Union now allow overseas-based players with more than 60 caps to be selected for Tests.

The Wallabies have been drawn in the same group as hosts England and Wales for the 2015 World Cup this autumn.

Coach Michael Cheika has not ruled out a return for 111-times capped flanker George Smith, in addition to fly-half Giteau (92 caps) and back three player Mitchell (63 caps).

Smith, 34, has signed for English Premiership club Wasps and was not included in the squad, but Cheika has left the door open to the back-rower.

"I've spoken with George and I've got a pretty clear role of how he might fit in here," he said.

Smith played his last match for Australia against the touring British and Irish Lions in 2013, and will be 35 by the start of the World Cup.

The inclusion of Giteau and Mitchell follows a change in the rule under which players based overseas were not considered for the Wallabies.

Australia face South Africa in their opening Rugby Championship game in Brisbane on 18 July before travelling to Argentina a week later.

Cheika's side face New Zealand home and away and travel to the United States for a Test match on 5 September.

They open their World Cup campaign against Fiji in Cardiff on 23 September.

Extended Wallabies Squad: Rory Arnold (Brumbies), Adam Ashley-Cooper (Waratahs), Kurtley Beale (Waratahs), Quade Cooper (Reds), Dave Dennis (Waratahs), James Hanson (Reds/Rebels), Scott Fardy (Brumbies), Tetera Faulkner (Force), Israel Folau (Waratahs), Bernard Foley (Waratahs), Will Genia (Reds), Matt Giteau (Toulon), Scott Higginbotham (Rebels), Greg Holmes (Reds), Michael Hooper (Waratahs), Rob Horne (Waratahs), James Horwill (Reds), Samu Kerevi (Reds), Sekope Kepu (Waratahs), Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies), Christian Lealiifano (Brumbies), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Drew Mitchell (Toulon), Wycliff Palu (Waratahs), Ben McCalman (Force), Sean McMahon (Rebels), Dean Mumm (Waratahs), Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs), Nick Phipps (NSW Waratahs), David Pocock (Brumbies), Tatafu Polota-Nau (Waratahs), Scott Sio (Brumbies), Rob Simmons (Reds), Will Skelton (Waratahs), James Slipper (Reds), Toby Smith (Rebels), Henry Speight (Brumbies), Matt Toomua (Brumbies), Joe Tomane (Brumbies), Nic White (Brumbies).