Rugby Championship: South Africa 25-37 Argentina

Juan Imhoff
Imhoff scored a 19-minute hat-trick in the historic win
Rugby Championship: South Africa v Argentina
South Africa: (13) 25
Tries: De Jager, Le Roux, Habana Pens: Pollard 2 Cons: Pollard 2
Argentina: (27) 37
Tries: Imhoff 3, Bosch Pens: Hernandez, Bosch Drop goals: Bosch Cons: Hernandez 4

Argentina beat South Africa for the first time in their history as this year's Rugby Championship drew to a close in Durban.

It was the Pumas' first victory over the Springboks in 20 attempts after 18 losses and a draw.

Winger Juan Imhoff scored a 19-minute hat-trick as Argentina finished off the bottom of the Championship for the first time.

Earlier Australia won the title after they beat New Zealand 27-19 in Sydney.

Centre Marcelo Bosch scored Argentina's other try after just a minute's play at King's Park, while Imhoff scored two first-half tries as the Pumas took a 27-13 lead at the break.

Imhoff then completed his hat-trick within two minutes of the restart while fly-half Juan Martin Hernandez, landed four conversions and a penalty as South Africa suffered their third straight loss.

Springbok winger Bryan Habana scored a late consolation try with two minutes left on the clock while lock Lood de Jager and full-back Willie le Roux were also on the score sheet for South Africa.


South Africa: Le Roux, Kriel, De Villiers, De Allende, Habana, Pollard, Pienaar, Mtawarira, Du Plessis, Koch, Etzebeth, De Jager, Brussow, Coetzee, Burger.

Replacements: Strauss, Nyakane, Van der Merwe, Du Toit, Kolisi, Reinach, Lambie, Mvovo.

Argentina: Tuculet, Agulla, Bosch, De La Fuente, Imhoff, Hernandez, Cubelli, Ayerza, Creevy, Tetaz Chaparro, Petti Pagadizaval, Lavanini, Matera, Leguizamon, Senatore.

Replacements: Montoya, Noguera Paz, Diaz, Alemanno, Lezana, Landajo, Gonzalez Iglesias, Gonzalez Amorosino.

Referee: Romain Poite (France)

Top Stories