Bledisloe Cup: Richie McCaw sets record as All Blacks beat Australia

Richie McCaw
Richie McCaw (second right) played for 60 minutes at Eden Park and went off to a standing ovation
Bledisloe Cup: New Zealand v Australia
New Zealand: (13) 41
Tries: Coles, Penalty, Nonu 2, Smith Pens: Carter 2 Cons: Carter 5
Australia: (6) 13
Tries: Folau Pens: Cooper 2

Flanker Richie McCaw became the most capped player in Test history as his New Zealand side retained the Bledisloe Cup for a 12th year against Australia.

McCaw, 34, led the side out at Eden Park as he overtook Ireland centre Brian O'Driscoll's record of 141 caps.

Australia came out on top last weekend as they lifted the Rugby Championship, but they were undone away from home.

New Zealand held a narrow 13-6 half-time lead before running in four second-half tries to seal victory.

Richie McCaw banner
The crowd showed their support for Richie McCaw, who is expected to retire after the World Cup

Two Dan Carter penalties and a converted Dane Coles try had put the world champions ahead, with two Quade Cooper kicks keeping Australia in touch going into the break.

But Cooper was sent to the sin bin early in the second half for a high tackle on Aaron Smith and a penalty try was awarded to the All Blacks.

Wing Ma'a Nonu went over twice, as Australia struggled without Cooper on the field, before Conrad Smith added a fifth.

Israel Folau showed his electric pace with a superb solo try, but it was a mere consolation for the Wallabies.

The All Blacks have now won 34 consecutive Tests at Eden Park, and it looks set to be McCaw's last game on home soil, with the number seven expected to retire from international duty after September's World Cup in England.


New Zealand: B. Smith, Milner-Skudder, C. Smith, Nonu, Savea, Carter, A. Smith, Woodcock, Coles, O. Franks, Retallick, Whitelock, Vito, McCaw, Read.

Replacements: Mealamu, Crockett, Laulala, Kaino, Cane, Perenara, Slade, Fekitoa.

Australia: Folau, Ashley-Cooper, Kuridrani, Toomua, Speight, Cooper, White, Sio, Moore, Kepu, Skelton, Horwill, Fardy, Hooper, Palu.

Replacements: Polota-Nau, Slipper, Holmes, Mumm, Douglas, Pocock, Giteau, Beale.

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)

Top Stories