Rugby World Cup 2015: Ospreys' Tyler Ardron to captain Canada

Tyler Ardron
Tyler Ardron made his Canada debut on the same day as Ospreys team-mate Jeff Hassler
Rugby World Cup
Hosts:England and WalesDates:18 September-31 October
Coverage:Live commentary on BBC Radio 5 live and sports extra, BBC Radio Wales and in Welsh on BBC Radio Cymru, plus live text commentary on every match on the BBC Sport website.

Ospreys forward Tyler Ardron will captain Canada in the Rugby World Cup.

He is joined in the 31-man squad by Ospreys team-mate Jeff Hassler and Scarlets-bound wing DTH van der Merwe.

Coach Kieran Crowley's team kick off their campaign against Ireland in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium on 19 September.

"Tyler is part of the leadership group at Ospreys and captained them during the Six Nations this year," said former All Black Crowley.

"He's young but will call on the experience of Jamie Cudmore, Aaron Carpenter, Hubert Buydens and DTH van der Merwe, who all have World Cup experience, to help provide leadership."

DTH van der Merwe scores a try for Glasgow Warriors against Munster
DTH van der Merwe scored Glasgow's second try in their Pro12 final win over Munster

The 24-year-old Ardron has played 45 matches for the Welsh region and stood-in as captain when Alun Wyn Jones was on Wales duty.

Hassler, also 24, has scored 14 tries in 37 appearances.

Wing Van der Merwe has yet to play for the Scarlets after transferring from Glasgow at the end of the 2014-15 season.

In his final game for the Warriors he scored a try in the 31-13 win over Ulster which saw them lift the Pro 12 title.

Coach Crowley was in the New Zealand squad that won the inaugural World Cup in 1987.

Canada squad:

Forwards: Ray Barkwill (Ontario Blues), Aaron Carpenter (Cornish Pirates), Benoit Piffero (Atlantic Rock); Hubert Buydens (Prairie Wolf Pack), Jason Marshall (Agen), Djustice Sears-Duru (Ontario Blues), Andrew Tiedemann (Prairie Wolf Pack), Doug Wooldridge (Ontario Blues); Brett Beukeboom (Cornish Pirates), Jamie Cudmore (Clermont), Evan Olmstead (Greater Sydney Rams); Tyler Ardron (captain, Ospreys), Nanyak Dala (Prairie Wolf Pack), Kyle Gilmour (Rotherham Titans), John Moonlight (Ontario Blues), Jebb Sinclair (London Irish), Richard Thorpe (London Welsh).

Backs: Phil Mack (BC Bears), Jamie Mackenzie (Ontario Blues), Gordon McRorie (Prairie Wolf Pack); Nathan Hirayama (BC Bears), Liam Underwood (Ontario Blues); Nick Blevins (Prairie Wolf Pack), Connor Braid (BC Bears), Ciaran Hearn (Atlantic Rock), Conor Trainor (BC Bears); Jeff Hassler (Ospreys), Phil Mackenzie (Sale), DTH van der Merwe (Scarlets); Matt Evans (Cornish Pirates), Harry Jones (BC Bears).