Pro12: Ulster 28-6 Ospreys

Ulster start their Pro12 campaign with a win over Ospreys
Ulster (15) 28
Tries: Herring, McCloskey, Herbst, Marshall Cons: McCloskey Pens: McCloskey 2
Ospreys (6) 6
Pens: S Davies 2

Ulster started their Pro12 campaign with a bonus-point win over Ospreys at the Kingspan Stadium on Friday.

The hosts had the physical edge, epitomised by rampaging centre Stuart McCloskey who claimed a try alongside Rob Herring and Wiehahn Herbst.

Luke Marshall sealed a good night's work in the final minute, rounding off a flowing move for Ulster's fourth try to secure the extra point.

Ospreys rarely threatened the line and relied on Sam Davies' boot for points.

Both sides were missing players on World Cup duty, Ulster eight and their Welsh visitors 12, but there was no lack of experience on either side.

Gareth Delve pleased to make Ospreys debut despite Ulster loss

Ospreys gave a debut to Wales back-row Gareth Delve, the former Bath, Gloucester and Melbourne Rebels forward playing his first game for a Welsh regional team.

But he was able to make little impact as Ulster dominated, with Ospreys' cause not helped by the sin-binning of back-row Joe Bearman midway through the second half.

Ospreys 'got what they deserved'

"It was pretty disappointing… we got what we deserved which was nothing out of the game," Ospreys coach Steve Tandy said.

"I'll have to look at [Bearman's sin-binning] again but some of these decisions are fine lines and in slo-mo they look worse than what they are.

"We've been well beaten tonight and we'll have to refocus, but the next game comes around pretty quickly [at home to Munster on 13 September] so we've got to lick our wounds and come back fighting as Ospreys do."


Ulster: Louis Ludik; Andrew Trimble, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Craig Gilroy; Peter Nelson, Paul Marshall; Andrew Warwick, Rob Herring (capt), Wiehahn Herbst; Dan Tuohy, Franco van der Merwe; Roger Wilson, Willie Faloon, Nick Williams

Replacements: John Andrew, Ricky Lutton, Bronson Ross, Peter Browne, Clive Ross, Sean Reidy, David Shanahan, Sam Arnold.

Ospreys: Dan Evans; Kristian Phillips, Jonathan Spratt, Ben John, Tom Grabham; Sam Davies, Tom Habberfield; Marc Thomas, Sam Parry, Dmitri Arhip, Lloyd Ashley (Capt), De Kock Steenkamp, Joe Bearman, Lloyd Evans, Gareth Delve.

Replacements: Scott Otten, Nicky Smith, Cai Griffiths, Rory Thornton, Dan Baker, Sam Underhill, Brendon Leonard, Ashley Beck.

Referee: Ian Davies (WRU)

Assistant Referees: Sean Gallagher, Brian MacNeice (both IRFU)

Citing Commissioner: Eugene Ryan (IRFU)

TMO: Kevin Beggs (IRFU)

Top Stories