Rugby World Cup 2015: Fourie du Preez to captain South Africa

Fourie du Preez
Fourie du Preez has played in 72 Tests for South Africa and becomes the 56th man to captain the side
Rugby World Cup: South Africa v Scotland
Date: Saturday, 3 October. Venue: St James' Park, Newcastle. Kick-off: 16:45 BST.
Coverage: Listen on BBC Radio Scotland & 5live; live text commentary on BBC Sport website.

Fourie du Preez will captain South Africa in their World Cup Pool B game with Scotland in Newcastle on Saturday.

He takes over the captaincy from Jean de Villiers, who retired from Test rugby after breaking his jaw during the Springboks' 46-6 victory over Samoa.

Vice-captain Victor Matfield is ruled out with a hamstring strain so 33-year-old Du Preez, who has recovered from a rib injury, will lead the side.

Centres Damian de Allende and Jesse Kriel are both fit to start the match.

De Allende, 23, has recovered from a knee ligament strain, while 21-year-old Kriel is selected despite cutting his cheek against Samoa.

Jean de Villiers
Former South Africa captain Jean de Villiers received a great reception on his return to his homeland

Jan Serfontein, the 22-year-old called up to the squad to replace De Villiers, is among the replacements.

"I was surprised to get the call," the Blue Bulls centre said.

"I was watching the Wales-England game and I got a call from coach Heyneke Meyer saying that Jean is injured and that he was considering picking me but would only confirm it on Sunday.

"I couldn't sleep that night. I'm happy to be here and will do everything I can to contribute."

South Africa begun their World Cup campaign with a shock 34-32 defeat by Japan before their win over Samoa.

South Africa side to play Scotland

Starting XV: Willie le Roux; JP Pietersen, Jesse Kriel, Damian de Allende, Bryan Habana; Handre Pollard, Fourie du Preez (captain); Tendai Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis; Eben Etzebeth, Lood de Jager; Francois Louw, Schalk Burger, Duane Vermeulen.

Replacements: Adriaan Strauss, Trevor Nyakane, Frans Malherbe, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Willem Alberts, Ruan Pienaar, Pat Lambie, Jan Serfontein.

More from rugby:
Get World Cup alerts direct to your phone
Rugby World Cup 2015 fixtures and groups
For the latest rugby union news, follow @bbcrugbyunionexternal-link on Twitter

Top Stories