Pro12: Munster v Cardiff Blues (Sat)

Dave Kilcoyne and BJ Botha return for Munster
Dave Kilcoyne and BJ Botha return for Munster
Pro12: Munster v Cardiff Blues
Venue: Irish Independent Park, Cork Date: Saturday, 17 October Kick-off: 13:30 BST
Coverage: Preview and report on the BBC Sport website

Munster make six changes for the Pro12 encounter against Cardiff Blues at Irish Independent Park in Cork.

There's a new front row of Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry and BJ Botha while Rory Scannell, Francis Saili and Shane Monahan also come in.

Former Wales captain Matthew Rees starts his first game of the season for the Blues.

Hooker Rees, who skippers the side, is one of four changes following the defeat to Connacht a fortnight ago.

James Down starts in the second row alongside Lou Reed, Manoa Vosawai is named at Number Eight and Garyn Smith is on the wing.

Matthew Rees
Matthew Rees toured with the British and Irish Lions to South Africa in 2009

Saturday's game will be the first two away matches against Irish sides with the Blues travelling to Ulster the following weekend.

Blues head coach Danny Wilson expects a tough test against a Munster team looking to maintain their 100% start to the season.

"We will give them a huge amount of respect away from home," Wilson said.

"But at the same time we feel we are building something and are hoping that we can gain some momentum and good results in these away games to hold us in good stead for the rest of the season."

Tomás O'Leary and Denis Hurley are in the Munster squad for the first time this season after recovering from injury and they are among the replacements.

However, Stephen Archer is expected to be sidelined for a number of months after sustaining a neck injury during the win over Glasgow earlier this month.

Munster: Andrew Conway; Shane Monahan, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Gerhard van den Heever; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, BJ Botha; Mark Chisholm, Dave Foley; Dave O'Callaghan, Jack O'Donoghue, CJ Stander (capt).

Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, John Ryan, Robin Copeland, Jordan Coghlan, Tomás O'Leary, Denis Hurley, Dave Johnston.

Cardiff Blues: Dan Fish, Garyn Smith, Tom Isaacs, Gavin Evans, Richard Smith, Rhys Patchell, Tavis Knoyle; Sam Hobbs, Matthew Rees (capt), Craig Mitchell, Lou Reed, James Down, Josh Turnbull, Ellis Jenkins, Manoa Vosawai.

Replacements: Kristian Dacey, Thomas Davies, Dillon Lewis, Macauley Cook, Jevon Groves, Lewis Jones, Gareth Davies, Harry Davies.