Premiership: Exeter Chiefs 38-11 London Irish

By Brent PilnickBBC Sport at Sandy Park
Jack Nowell
Exeter wing Jack Nowell scored a hat-trick against Uruguay in England's final World Cup pool match
Exeter Chiefs (19) 38
Tries: Steenson, Armand, Cowan-Dickie, Short, Nowell 2 Cons: Steenson 4
London Irish (6) 11
Try: Cowan Pens: Noakes 2

Exeter Chiefs ran in six tries to secure a thumping bonus-point victory over London Irish at Sandy Park.

Gareth Steenson opened the scoring, darting past the Irish defence, before Chris Noakes landed a penalty.

But Don Armand and Luke Cowan-Dickie went over from close range to put Chiefs 19-3 ahead at the break.

James Short and two Jack Nowell tries after half-time sealed Exeter's bonus-point win, while Blair Cowan grabbed a consolation for the Exiles.

The home side dominated territory from the start, with their excellent forward pack setting the platform for their first win of the season.

Steenson darted through from 15 metres after being set up by a good break from Don Armand, though the fly-half was unable to add the extras.

Noakes replied with a penalty soon after following a rare foray into the Exeter half, but the Chiefs' forwards forced Armand over midway through the half after sustained pressure on the Irish try-line - while Cowan-Dickie went over in similar fashion soon after.

Short touched down in the first minute of the second half after a dynamic attack by Exeter's backs, before Nowell scored the try of the game as he caught a chip kick five metres from his own try-line and beat two challenges before running the length of the field to cross the whitewash.

Scotland forward Cowan scored a consolation for the Exiles with 15 minutes left, but Nowell got his second after anticipating an Irish kick and running in unchallenged.

Exeter: Dollman; Nowell, Slade, Whitten, Short; Steenson (capt), Chudley; Moon, Cowan-Dickie, Francis, Lees, Welch, Ewers, Armand, Waldrom.

Replacements: Yeandle, Hepburn, Low, Parling, Salvi, Lewis, Hill, Woodburn.

London Irish: Ojo; Lewington, Fowlie, Griffin, Tikoirotuma; Noakes, McKibbin; Smallbone, Paice, Aulika, Skivington (capt), Symons, Sinclair, Narraway, McCusker.

Replacements: Ellis, Court, Halavatau, Sheriff, Cowan, Steele, Geraghty, Maitland.

For the latest rugby union news follow @bbcrugbyunionexternal-link on Twitter.