Pro12: Connacht 33-19 Benetton Treviso

Robbie Henshaw scores a try for Connacht against Treviso
Robbie Henshaw scores a try for Connacht against Treviso
Connacht (9) 33
Tries: Henshaw, McCartney, Healy Con: Ronaldson 3 Pens: Ronaldson 4
Benetton Treviso (5) 19
Tries: Hayward 2, Gori Con: Hayward 2

High-flying Connacht recorded a 33-19 victory over Treviso in Galway on Friday night to go top of the Pro12.

Robbie Henshaw, Tom McCartney and Matt Healy scored second-half tries as Connacht won a fifth straight league game for the first time since 2002.

Three Craig Ronaldson penalties helped the home side lead 9-5 at the break with Jayden Hayward scoring the first of two tries for the visitors.

As Connacht chased a bonus point, Edoardo Gori scored a late Treviso try.

Two Ronaldson penalties put Connacht 6-0 ahead after 20 minutes but Treviso hit back with Hayward sprinting clear for the opening try after 26 minutes.

Ronaldson's third penalty gave Connacht a four-point interval lead before Henshaw, playing at full-back in his first Connacht appearance since the World Cup, went over in the corner two minutes after the restart.

Hayward scored a second Treviso try soon after but replacement hooker Tom McCartney rumbled over after a good Connacht line-out in the 51st minute.

Healy grabbed a third try with five minutes remaining and though Connacht chased a fourth-try bonus point in the closing minutes, they lost possession and Italy scrum-half Gori grabbed a consolation try for the visitors.

Connacht: Robbie Henshaw, Tiernan O'Halloran, Bundee Aki, Craig Ronaldson, Matt Healy, Jack Carty, John Cooney, Denis Buckley, Dave Heffernan, Nathan White, Ultan Dillane, Andrew Browne, John Muldoon (capt), Nepia Fox-Matamua, Eoin McKeon.

Replacements: Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham, 18. Rodney Ah You, Aly Muldowney, Eoghan Masterson, Kieran Marmion, AJ MacGinty, Darragh Leader.

Benetton Treviso: Jayden Hayward, Andrea Pratichetti, Tommaso Iannone, Enrico Bacchin, Simone Ragusi, Luke McLean, Alberto Lucchese, Braam Steyn, Alessandro Zanni (capt), Marco Barbini, Jeff Montauriol, Filo Paulo, Rupert Harden, Luca Bigi, Matteo Zanusso.

Replacements: Davide Giazzon, Matteo Muccignat, Simone Ferrari, Dean Budd, Marco Lazzaroni, Andrea De Marchi, Edoardo Gori, Sam Christie.

Referee: Ian Davies (WRU).