Pro12: Newport Gwent Dragons 22-6 Munster

By Nick WebbBBC Sport Wales
Robin Copeland of Munster is tackled by Sarel Pretorius
Dragons' Sarel Pretorius tackles Robin Copeland of Munster
Dragons (6) 22
Tries: Landman Cons: D Jones 3, Tovey Pens: D Jones 3 Drop-goal: D Jones
Munster (6) 6
Pens: Scannell 2

Captain Rynard Landman delivered the decisive blow with a late try as Newport Gwent Dragons earned a shock Pro12 win over Munster.

Munster's Rory Scannell and Dragons' Dorian Jones landed two penalties apiece in the opening period.

The hosts dominated the second half in which Jones added a drop-goal and penalty before Landman scored and Jones converted.

Jason Tovey added a late penalty as Dragons rose to ninth in the table.

Munster lie third after two consecutive defeats.

Jones' early kick cancelled out Scannell's, as both sides struggled to gain any momentum amid a stream of handling errors and penalties.

Taulupe Faletau takes on Simon Zebo
Dragons' Taulupe Faletau takes on Simon Zebo of Munster

Munster twice came close to tries early in the second quarter, as Simon Zebo touched down only to be penalised for a double movement, and then Lucas Amorosino lost the ball over the line.

A second Jones penalty on the half-hour mark edged the Dragons ahead before Carl Meyer was bundled into touch at the corner in the Dragons' most promising attack.

Scannell replied from 30 metres to leave the game tied at the interval as referee Gary Conway blew for an injury with the Dragons hammering at the visitors' line.

Jones fired over a drop-goal from 40 metres out to get the second-half scoring under way.

But tries continued to prove elusive as Sarel Pretorius for the Dragons and then Munster's Ronan O'Mahoney failed to find support for solo breaks.

Pro12 highlights: Dragons 22-6 Munster

Jones found the target with a 30 metre penalty, but missed with another penalty and two more drop-goals which could have given the home side some breathing space going into the closing minutes.

The Dragons finally eased the nerves of their noisy following when South African lock Landman charged over after 78 minutes from Adam Hughes' break, Jones adding the extras.

Replacement Tovey then slotted over a penalty with the final kick of the game.

The Welsh region's season continues with a double-header in the European Challenge Cup against Pau while Munster face Leicester in the Champions Cup.

Dragons director of rugby Lyn Jones told BBC Wales Sport: "We're overjoyed with the victory, but more importantly for us it's the standard of performance that we're trying to create.

"Munster are no pushover, they have an error-free game and a new generation coming through.

"They're a difficult team to play against, but I thought we were in control for long periods of that game and it was a deserved victory."

Munster head coach Anthony Foley: "We butchered a couple of opportunities in the first half and at 9-6 we missed a penalty in front of the posts.

"Simon (Zebo) goes for an intercept, it could be a game-winning moment and it took the game away from us [with Landman's try].

"Fair play to the Dragons, I thought they were full value for the win.

"You've got to make changes, we had injuries, but fellows had opportunities and didn't take it."

Dragons: Carl Meyer; Tom Prydie, Adam Hughes, Adam Warren, Ashton Hewitt; Dorian Jones, Sarel Pretorius; Phil Price, Thomas Rhys Thomas (capt), Brok Harris, Matthew Screech, Rynard Landman, Lewis Evans, Nic Cudd, Taulupe Faletau.

Replacements: Rhys Buckley, Shaun Knight, Lloyd Fairbrother, Cory Hill, Ed Jackson, Charlie Davies, Jason Tovey, Ross Wardle.

Munster: Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino; Ronan O'Mahony, David Johnston, Denis Hurley (capt), Simon Zebo; Rory Scannell, Tomas O'Leary; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Dave Foley, Mark Chisholm; Shane Buckley, Dave O'Callaghan, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Kevin O'Byrne, James Cronin, Mario Sagario, Billy Holland, Jordan Coghlan, Cathal Sheridan, Tyler Bleyendaal, Gerhard van den Heever.

Referee: Gary Conway (IRFU)

Assistant referees: Leighton Hodges, Daniel Jones (WRU)

Citing commissioner: John Charles (WRU)

TMO: Tim Hayes (WRU)

Top Stories