Six Nations: Exeter's Campagnaro joins Italy's absentees

Sergio Parisse and Martin Castrogiovanni
Sergio Parisse (L) could have Martin Castrogiovanni back as a team-mate against Wales
Six Nations: Wales v Italy
Date: Saturday, 19 March Venue: Principality Stadium, Cardiff Kick-off: 14:30 GMT
Coverage: Live on BBC One Wales & S4C, BBC Radio Wales, BBC Radio Cymru & BBC Sport website and BBC Sport app, plus live text commentary.

Italy have suffered another blow before facing Wales with centre Michele Campagnaro out injured.

Exeter's Campagnaro has started all Italy's 2016 Six Nations games and scored two tries on their 2014 visit to Cardiff.

Twice-capped Zebre centre Giulio Bisegni, 23, has been called up.

Italy earlier lost Edoardo Padovani, Lorenzo Cittadini and George Biagi through injuries suffered in defeat by Ireland.

More from BBC Wales Sport
Wales ponder changes to face Italy
Wales team and coaches 'as one' - Howley
Ryan Giggs: Wales the Euro 2016 team to avoid

It means the Azzurri must make at least four changes with fly-half Padovani, prop Cittadini and lock Biagi joining Campagnaro on the sidelines.

Racing 92 prop Martin Castrogiovanni, 34, has been recalled to the 28-man squad following suspension.

Perpignan fly-half Tommy Allen is also called up alongside uncapped pair Jacopo Sarto and Tommaso Castello.

Italy will be playing their final Six Nations game under coach Jacques Brunel, with Harlequins boss and former Ireland full-back Conor O'Shea expected to take over.

The Azzurri are winless in 2016 while Wales are hoping to finish second behind champions England, having lost in this year's tournament for the first time on Saturday.

Italy squad

Forwards: Martin Castrogiovanni, Dario Chistolini, Pietro Ceccarelli, Andrea Lovoti, Matteo Zanusso, Oliviero Fabiani, Davide Gizzzon, Valerio Bernabo, Marco Fuser, Quintin Geldenhuys, Francesco Minto, Sergio Parisse (capt), Jacopo Sarto, Abraham Steyn, Alessandro Zanni.

Backs: Alberto Lucchese, Guglielmo Palazzani, Tommaso Allan, Kelly Haimona, Mattia Bellini, Giulio Bisegni, Tommaso Castello, Gonzalo Garcia, Luke McLean, Luca Morisi, David Odiete, Andrea Pratichetti, Leonardo Sarto.

Top Stories