Pro12: Ospreys 47-10 Treviso

By Nick WebbBBC Wales Sport
Ospreys 47-10 Treviso
Ospreys (21) 47
Tries: Evans (2), Baker, Watkin, Cracknell, Dirksen, John Cons: Biggar (6)
Treviso (3) 10
Tries: Sgarbi Cons: Christie Pens: Hayward

Ospreys kept alive their slim hopes of a top-six finish in the Pro12 with an easy bonus-point win over bottom side Treviso.

Dan Evans, Dan Baker and Owen Watkin crossed for first-half tries to put Ospreys 21-3 ahead at the interval.

Olly Cracknell, Hanno Dirksen, Evans again and Ben John scored after the break, with Dan Biggar converting six.

Alberto Sgarbi got a consolation try for Treviso, who had Dean Budd sent off.

Ospreys had seen Wales forwards Paul James and Justin Tipuric together with Canada wing Jeff Hassler and South Africa centre JJ Engelbrecht ruled out for the season.

But they still had too much ability for the Italians, who remain stuck on a tally of just two victories in the Pro12 this season.

Evans got the scoreboard moving after just eight minutes as he stepped his way through some poor tackling from the 22.

Owen Watkin try
Owen Watkin scores another first half try for Ospreys

Jayden Hayward knocked over a penalty in a rare bout of Treviso pressure, but Baker made the most of a rolling maul after 22 minutes to plunge over from close range.

Teenage centre Watkin then forced his way over with Biggar converting for the third time to make it 21-3 after 26 minutes.

But the Ospreys missed a chance to get the bonus point in the final minute of the first half, when Budd stripped Baker of possession on the line.

Budd and Robert Barbieri were yellow-carded in the opening stages of the second half as injury-hit Treviso were forced on to the defensive.

Cracknell sealed the bonus point after 53 minutes and the Ospreys swept back upfield from the kick-off with Dirksen finishing off a spectacular team effort for the highlight of the night.

Sgarbi pulled one back for the visitors with Sam Christie converting, but after Budd's second yellow card for a swinging-arm tackle, the Ospreys went back onto the offensive.

Hanno Dirksen
Hanno Dirksen scores the final try of the night for the hosts

Evans and John finished off the rout in the closing stages with Biggar adding three further conversions.

Ospreys: Dan Evans; Hanno Dirksen, Owen Watkin, Josh Matavesi, Eli Walker; Dan Biggar, Rhys Webb (capt); Nicky Smith, Sam Parry, Dmitri Arhip; Adam Beard, Rynier Bernardo; Olly Cracknell, James King, Dan Baker

Replacements: Scott Baldwin, Gareth Thomas, Aaron Jarvis, Rory Thornton, Dan Lydiate, Brendon Leonard, Sam Davies, Ben John

Treviso: Jayden Hayward; Angelo Esposito, Luca Morisi, Alberto Sgarbi, Ludovico Nitoglia; Sam Christie, Edoardo Gori; Alberto De Marchi, Ornel Gega, Simone Ferrari; Filo Paulo, Jeff Montauriol; Marco Lazzaroni, Alessandro Zanni (capt), Robert Barbieri

Replacements: Cherif Traore, Matteo Zanusso, Salesi Manu, Dean Budd, Abraham Steyn, Francesco Minto, Chris Smylie, James Ambrosini

Referee: David Wilkinson (IRFU)

Assistant referees: Dan Jones, Martyn Lewis (both WRU)

Citing commissioner: Gwyn Bowden (WRU)

TMO: Tim Hayes (WRU)