European player of the year: Six England Grand-Slam stars on the list

England Six Nations
England won the Grand Slam for the first time since 2003

Six of England's Grand Slam-winning squad are among the nominations for the 2016 European player of the year award.

Owen Farrell, Maro Itoje, George Kruis and Billy Vunipola (all Saracens), Jack Clifford (Harlequins) and Elliot Daly (Wasps) are on the 15-man list.

The last three winners are all English - Nick Abendanon, Steffon Armitage and Jonny Wilkinson.

Northampton's Wales wing George North, Toulon's Armitage, winner in 2014, and Racing 92's Dan Carter also feature.

Australia great George Smith and fellow Wasp Charles Piutau, Exeter number eight Thomas Waldrom and Leicester's Vereniki Goneva are the other nominees from the English Premiership.

Armitage's Toulon team-mate Guilhem Guirado and Racing 92's Argentine winger Juan Imhoff complete the list.

The winner will be announced during May's European finals weekend in Lyon.

Clermont Auvergne's Abendanon, who scored a try in a losing cause in the the 2015 European Champions Cup final, is the current holder of the award.

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC