Principality Premiership final: Pontypridd 12-38 Ebbw Vale

Ronny Kynes is tackled by Pontypridd's Dafydd Lockyer
Ebbw Vale flanker Ronny Kynes was named man of the match after scoring two tries
Principality Premiership Final
Pontypridd (0) 12
Tries: Coombes, Davies
Ebbw Vale (14) 38
Tries: Kynes 2, Williams, Haymond Cons: Langdon 4

Ebbw Vale ended the reign of champions Pontypridd with a comfortable victory in the Principality Premiership final.

Ronny Kynes and David Williams scored two tries apiece for the Steelmen, who had lost to Pontypridd in last season's final.

Bradley Coombes and Seb Davies scored tries for Pontypridd in between Dan Haymond crossing for Ebbw Vale's fifth try.

Vale's first title denied Pontypridd a fifth successive success.

Pontypridd had topped the regular-season table to automatically reach the final at Sardis Road.

Ebbw Vale finished third, but won their play-off at second-placed Llandovery to earn the right to challenge for the crown.

Ebbw Vale wing David Williams
Wing David Williams scored two tries in Ebbw Vale's 38-12 victory.

Ceri Sweeney missed a penalty for Pontypridd before flanker Ronny Kynes scored the game's opening try and Dai Langdon converting.

Kynes was yellow carded but Ebbw Vale extended their lead before the break through Williams' try.

Man of the match Kynes crossed for his second try of the game and his 19th of the season to extend the Steelmen's lead, with Langdon adding the extras.

Wing Williams also ran in a second try with Langdon's fourth successful conversion of the afternoon making it 30-0 to the visitors.

Coombes' try was Pontypridd's first points of the game but Haymond ran 80 metres to score a fifth try for Ebbw Vale, which Langdon converted.

Davies' try for Pontypridd was the final act of a game which Ebbw Vale fully dominated and deserved to win.

Pontypridd: Geraint Walsh; Alex Webber, Gary Williams, Dafydd Lockyer (capt), Chris Clayton; Ceri Sweeney, Joel Raikes; Chris Phillips, Huw Dowden, Keiron Assiratti, Hemi Barne, Seb Davies, Jake Thomas, Rhys Shellard, Dan Godfrey.

Replacements: Lloyd Williams, Lewis K Williams, Bradley Coombes, Ashleigh James, Wayne O'Connor, Jordan Sieniawsk, Mitch Auger, Corey Domachowski.

Ebbw Vale: Dan Haymond; David Williams, Nathan Preece, Adam Jones, Jared Rosser; Dai Langdon, Chris Thomas; Ross Jones, Mathew Williams, Gethin Robinson, Damien Hudd (capt), Ashley Sweet, Rhys Clarke, Ronny Kynes, Cameron Regan.

Replacements: Joe Franchi, Ian George, Rob Sevenoaks, Josh Jacas, Luke Crocker, Tom Edwards, Iain Smerdon, Harrison Keddie.

Top Stories