Ireland's South Africa series: Ian Madigan and Stuart McCloskey left out of squad

Ian Madigan has been left out of Ireland's South Africa series
Ireland coach Joe Schmidt said Ian Madigan's decision to move to Bordeaux was "unfortunate"

Ian Madigan and Stuart McCloskey are notable omissions from Ireland's 32-man squad for next month's Test series against South Africa.

Fly-half Madigan, 27, is moving from Leinster to Bordeaux, a decision which Ireland coach Joe Schmidt in March described as "unfortunate".

Ulster centre McCloskey, 23, misses out with his club-mates Luke Marshall and Stuart Olding both chosen.

Uncapped Connacht lock Quinn Roux and Ulster flanker Sean Reidy are included.

With Madigan not selected, Johnny Sexton and Paddy Jackson are the only fly-halves in the squad with Olding providing possible back-up for the role.

Ulster flanker Reidy handed first Ireland call-up

Ulster's Sean Reidy
New Zealand-born Ulster flanker Sean Reidy is handed a first Ireland call-up

Auckland-born Reidy, 27, joined Ulster in 2014 and qualifies for Ireland because of his county Kerry-born grandfather.

South African-born Roux, 25, is now eligible to play for Ireland under the three-year residency rule having signed for Leinster in 2012 before switching to Connacht.

While Reidy earns his first Ireland call-up, his Ulster team-mate Chris Henry is again left out after not featuring during this year's Six Nations while Munster's Tommy O'Donnell is a surprise back-row omission.

Instead, Joe Schmidt has picked Leinster back rows Jordi Murphy and Rhys Ruddock.

Henry's last Ireland outing was in the World Cup quarter-final defeat by Argentina last October.

Following recent knee surgery, Munster wing Simon Zebo joins a list of absent injured players which also includes Tommy Bowe, Sean O'Brien, Cian Healy, Peter O'Mahony, Josh van der Flier, Andrew Conway plus Connacht props Denis Buckley and Nathan White.

No places for wings Healy and Gilroy

Connacht wing Matt Healy has not been included despite his impressive season for the Pro12 finalists while there are also no places for Ulster wing Craig Gilroy and emerging Leinster centre Garry Ringrose.

Schmidt opts for Keith Earls, Luke Fitzgerald, Dave Kearney and Andrew Trimble as his wing options.

Ulster's fit-again Iain Henderson, who missed the Six Nations because of injury, returns to the squad.

Ireland face the Springboks in the first Test in Cape Town on 11 June, with the sides meeting again over the following two weekends in Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth.

Ireland squad

Forwards: Finlay Bealham (Connacht), Rory Best (Ulster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Ultan Dillane (Connacht), Tadgh Furlong (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), David Kilcoyne (Munster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Sean Reidy (Ulster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Quinn Roux (Connacht), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), CJ Stander (Munster), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster)

Backs: Keith Earls (Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), David Kearney (Leinster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Conor Murray (Munster), Stuart Olding (Ulster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Johnny Sexton (Leinster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster).