New Zealand v Wales: All Blacks make six changes for first Test

Kieran Read
Kieran Read previously captained New Zealand when Richie McCaw took a sabbatical in 2013
New Zealand v Wales (first Test)
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland Date: Saturday, 11 June Kick-off: 08:35 BST
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Radio Wales, BBC Radio Cymru, the BBC Sport app, Connected TV, and live text commentary on the BBC Sport website.

New Zealand head coach Steve Hansen has named an experienced side for Saturday's first Test against Wales at Eden Park in Auckland.

Kieran Read captains a XV showing six changes from the team that beat Australia in October's World Cup final.

Lock Luke Romano replaces the injured Sam Whitelock for the first match of a three-Test series.

The All Blacks team features players with 720 caps, despite the retirement of several high-profile stars.

Former New Zealand coach John Hart believes Wales can pose a tough challenge to the All Blacks in the first Test in Auckland.

Flanker Sam Cane replaces former skipper Richie McCaw while Aaron Cruden starts at fly-half in place of Dan Carter.

Uncapped pair Ardie Savea and Seta Tamanivalu are among the replacements.

"We're well aware that this is a good Welsh team and not one that we'll underestimate," Hansen said.

"Whilst the opposition might believe that we're vulnerable because it's our first Test and we have lost some experienced players, we don't have that mindset."

New Zealand team to face Wales: Ben Smith, Waisake Naholo, Malakai Fekitoa, Ryan Crotty, Julian Savea, Aaron Cruden, Aaron Smith; Kieran Read (captain), Sam Cane, Jerome Kaino, Brodie Retallick, Luke Romano; Owen Franks, Dane Coles, Joe Moody.

Replacements: Nathan Harris, Wyatt Crockett, Charlie Faumuina, Patrick Tuipulotu, Ardie Savea, TJ Perenara, Beauden Barrett, Seta Tamanivalu.