New Zealand v Wales: Warren Gatland hopes Jake Ball can return from dislocated finger

By Owen RawlingsBBC Wales Sport in Wellington, New Zealand
Jake Ball
Jake Ball made his Wales debut against Ireland in the 2014 Six Nations
New Zealand v Wales (second Test)
Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington Date: Saturday, 18 June 2016 Kick-off: 08:35 BST
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Radio Wales, BBC Radio Cymru, the BBC Sport app, Connected TV, and live text commentary on the BBC Sport website.

Wales coach Warren Gatland hopes lock Jake Ball can recover from soreness and a dislocated finger ahead of the final Test against New Zealand on 25 June.

Ball has been left out of the squad for Saturday's game against the All Blacks in Wellington after being injured in Tuesday's 40-7 defeat by the Chiefs.

"He's just battered really. He's pretty sore at the moment," said Gatland.

"Hopefully he's going to recover for the rest of this week and put himself in contention for selection next week."

Wales' summer fixtures:
11 June: New Zealand 39-21 Wales (Auckland)
14 June: Chiefs 40-7 Wales (Hamilton)
18 June: New Zealand (Wellington)
25 June: New Zealand (Dunedin)

Back Gareth Anscombe continues to nurse a hip injury sustained in the 39-21 defeat by the world champions at Eden Park and has been omitted from the match-day 23 for Saturday's game.

Wales had already lost flanker Dan Lydiate with a shoulder injury before the tour and fellow British and Irish Lion George North departed after the opening Test because of a hamstring tear.

Prop Paul James (calf) and scrum-half Lloyd Williams (ankle) have also left the tour with front-row Aaron Jarvis,Scarlets scrum-half Aled Davies, Ospreys wing Keelan Giles and Scarlets back Rhys Patchell flying to New Zealand as injury cover.

British and Irish Lions Leigh Halfpenny, Justin Tipuric and Alex Cuthbert were not considered for Wales' tour because of injury.


Backs: Gareth Davies, Rhys Webb, Aled Davies, Gareth Anscombe, Dan Biggar, Rhys Priestland, Jonathan Davies, Tyler Morgan, Jamie Roberts, Scott Williams, Hallam Amos, Matthew Morgan, Rhys Patchell, Tom James, Keelan Giles, Eli Walker, Liam Williams.

Forwards: Rob Evans, Tomas Francis, Aaron Jarvis, Gethin Jenkins, Rhodri Jones, Samson Lee, Scott Baldwin, Kristian Dacey, Ken Owens, Jake Ball, Luke Charteris, Bradley Davies, Alun Wyn Jones, Taulupe Faletau, James King, Ross Moriarty, Josh Turnbull, Ellis Jenkins, Sam Warburton (captain).

Top Stories