Rugby Championship: New Zealand run up eight tries to beat Argentina

Julian Savea
Julian Savea has scored 42 tries for the All Blacks
Rugby Championship: New Zealand v Argentina
New Zealand: (57)
Tries: B Smith 2, Crotty 2, J Savea, Barrett, Faumuiana, Romano Pens: Dagg Cons: Barrett 6, Cruden
Argentina: (22)
Tries: Cordero Pens: Sanchez 5 Cons: Sanchez

New Zealand put on a second-half masterclass to beat Argentina 57-22 in the Rugby Championship in Hamilton.

A Santiago Cordero try put the Pumas in front, but Julian Savea, Ben Smith and Beauden Barrett went over to give the hosts a narrow 24-19 lead at the break.

New Zealand dominated the second half with further tries from Smith, Charlie Faumuiana, Luke Romano and two from Ryan Crotty.

The All Blacks are now unbeaten in 14 games stretching back to August 2015.

With their third win out of three, the victory kept the world champions on track to win the southern hemisphere championship for the fourth time in five years.

The Pumas have never beaten their illustrious hosts but they made a statement of intent as Cordero dived under the posts in the opening passage of play at the Waikato Stadium.

Their lead was short-lived, however, with wing Savea equalling Australian David Campese's record of nine tries against Argentina when he also went under the posts.

The visitors continued to ask questions, and two penalties from Nicolas Sanchez handed them a 13-7 lead before Smith broke away to restore some order.

Barrett then took advantage of a kind bounce from a Smith kick to go over the line as the home side got their noses in front at half-time.

The All Blacks were a different proposition after the break and took the game away from the Pumas with four tries and 28 points in a devastating 13-minute spell.

They used their strong bench to good effect with replacements Faumuiana and Romano among those scoring tries.

New Zealand host South Africa and Argentina travel to Australia in next Saturday's Rugby Championship fixtures.


New Zealand: B Smith, Dagg, Fekitoa, Crotty, J Savea, Barrett, A Smith, Moody, Coles, Franks, Retallick, Whitelock, Kaino, Cane, Read (c).

Replacements: Taylor, Crockett, Faumuiana, Romano, A Savea, Peranana, Cruden, Lienert-Brown.

Argentina: Tuculet, Moroni, Orlando, Hernandez, Cordero, Sanchez, Landajo, Tetaz, Creevy (c), Herrera, Petti, Alemanno, Matera, Orgeta Desio, Isa.

Replacements: Montoya, Noguera, Pieretto, Kremer, Senatore, Cubelli, Gonzalez, Moyana.

Top Stories