Shane Williams, Jonny Wilkinson, Brian O'Driscoll, Maggie Alphonsi inducted into World Rugby Hall of Fame

Brian O'Driscoll (left) and Shane Williams
Ireland's Brian O'Driscoll (left) and Shane Williams of Wales clash during the 2011 World Cup

Ex-Wales wing Shane Williams and former England fly-half Jonny Wilkinson are among 12 players who have been inducted into World Rugby's Hall of Fame.

Wilkinson is one of four English inductees, along with former team-mates Jeremy Guscott and Lawrence Dallaglio, and World Cup winner Maggie Alphonsi.

Williams, World Rugby's player of the year in 2008, is joined by fellow Welshmen John Dawes and Arthur Gould.

Former Ireland centre Brian O'Driscoll is also on the list.

Scotland's 1925 Grand Slam-winning captain GPS Macpherson, former Canada wing and Winter Olympic bobsleigh gold medallist Heather Moyse, ex-Japan wing and world-record try-scorer Daisuke Ohata and Daniel Collins - a former Australia and USA international and First World War lieutenant - are the other inductees.

Jonny Wilkinson
Jonny Wilkinson, World Rugby player of the year in 2003, scored 1,179 points in 91 Tests for England

O'Driscoll is recognised for a stellar career during which he led Ireland to their first Grand Slam in 61 years and became his country's record try-scorer and cap-holder with 46 tries in 133 Tests.

Wilkinson is England's record points-scorer and his extra-time drop-goal against Australia clinched the 2003 World Cup for a team which also included number eight Dallaglio.

Centre Guscott's crowning moment was also a drop-goal, as his for the British and Irish Lions against South Africa in 1997 set them up for a series win.

Alphonsi was a key member of the England side that dominated the Six Nations with seven straight titles - six of them Grand Slams - between 2006 and 2012, and became the first female recipient of the Rugby Writers' prestigious Pat Marshall Award.

Maggie Alphonsi
After scoring 28 tries in 74 games for England, Maggie Alphonsi retired in 2015

As a player, Dawes led Wales to a Grand Slam in 1971 and the Lions to their first series win in New Zealand. As Wales coach, he guided his country to two more Grand Slams in 1976 and 1978.

A charismatic back, Gould was captain for 18 of his 27 Wales caps - a record that lasted almost a century. He retired in 1897 and remained Wales' most-capped centre until overtaken by Steve Fenwick in 1980.

The full list of new inductees (with induction number and country) is:

Brian O'Driscoll (121, Ireland), Shane Williams (122, Wales), Jeremy Guscott (123, England), Lawrence Dallaglio (124, England), Heather Moyse (125, Canada), John Dawes (126, Wales), GPS Macpherson (127, Scotland), Arthur Gould (128, Wales), Jonny Wilkinson (129, England), Daniel Carroll (130, Australia and USA), Daisuke Ohata (131, Japan) and Maggie Alphonsi (132, England).

Top Stories