Women's Six Nations 2017: Katie Dougan makes first Scotland against Italy

Scotland prop Katie Dougan
Katie Dougan is one of two changes to the Scotland line-up
Women's Six Nations: Scotland v Italy
Venue: Broadwood Stadium, Cumbernauld Date: Friday, 17 March Kick-off: 18:20 GMT
Coverage: BBC Sport website

Edinburgh University prop Katie Dougan will make her first start for Scotland when they face Italy in the final game of this year's Women's Six Nations.

The 22-year-old made her debut against Italy in the 2015 championship and featured as a replacement against Spain in November.

Number eight Jade Konkel returns to the Scotland side after missing the 64-0 hammering by England.

Sarah Bonar and Lindsey Smith drop to the bench.

The inclusion of full-time player Konkel means a reshuffle, with Bonar making way for an all-Hillhead Jordanhill back row including Jemma Forsyth and Louise McMillan.

Scotland go into the game at Broadwood Stadium, Cumbernauld, seeking their second win in the tournament following their one-point victory over Wales.

Italy are yet to win a match in this year's competition.

Scotland head coach Shade Munro said: "We are aiming to end this year's Six Nations campaign on a positive note with a strong performance against Italy.

"It's been pleasing to see the squad improve in many aspects, but there is more work to be done to reach our full potential.

"We need a consistent and solid performance at Broadwood as Italy are a very good side and have been improving with every game in the tournament."

Lichfield hooker Rachel Malcolm returns to the bench after recovering from an injury picked up in the opening match against Ireland.

Melrose wing Lauren Harris also comes on to the bench.

Scotland Women team to face Italy

Chloe Rollie (Murrayfield Wanderers), Megan Gaffney (Edinburgh University), Lisa Thomson (Edinburgh University), Lisa Martin, capt (Murrayfield Wanderers), Rhona Lloyd (Edinburgh University), Helen Nelson (Murrayfield Wanderers), Sarah Law (Murrayfield Wanderers/Edinburgh University), Tracy Balmer (Worcester), Lana Skeldon (Hillhead Jordanhill), Katie Dougan (Edinburgh University), Emma Wassell (Murrayfield Wanderers), Deborah McCormack (Aylesford Bulls), Jemma Forsyth (Hillhead Jordanhill), Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill), Jade Konkel (Hillhead Jordanhill).

Replacements: Rachel Malcolm (Lichfield), Heather Lockhart (Hillhead Jordanhill), Lindsey Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill), Sarah Bonar (Lichfield), Lyndsay O'Donnell (Worcester), Jenny Maxwell (Lichfield), Lauren Harris (Melrose), Eilidh Sinclair (Murrayfield Wanderers).

Top Stories