Pro12: Zebre 14-50 Munster

Tommy O'Donnell dives over to score one of Munster's seven tries
Tommy O'Donnell scored one of Munster's seven tries in Parma
Pro12: Zebre v Munster
Zebre (7) 14
Tries: Minnie, Greeff Cons: Violi, Bordoli
Munster (24) 50
Tries: N Scannell, O'Donnell, R O'Mahony 2, R Scannell, Cronin 2 Cons: Bleyendaal 4, R Scannell 2 Pen: Bleyendaal

Munster continued their march towards the Pro12 play-offs as they earned a 50-14 bonus-point away win over Zebre.

Ronan O'Mahony and James Cronin both notched two tries with Tommy O'Donnell and the Scannell brothers Niall and Rory also touching down for Munster.

Derick Minnie scored a first-half try for Zebre as Munster led 24-7 at the break with Lloyd Greeff also scoring for the Pro12's bottom club in Parma.

The Italian club have lost 16 of their 17 Pro12 matches this season.

Ireland hooker Niall Scannell finished off a maul to open Munster's account in the third minute before his fellow international O'Donnell extended the lead on 18 minutes.

After wing O'Mahony's first try, Minnie replied for Zebre on the half-hour mark before a Tyler Bleyendaal penalty left Munster 17 points clear at half-time.

Munster centre Scannell joined his older brother on the scoreboard with the first try of the second half to ensure his side a bonus point, before O'Mahony secured his brace after Marcello Violi was sin-binned for the hosts.

Despite their numerical disadvantage, Zebre reduced the deficit to 12 points through a converted try from South African Greeff with just under 25 minutes to play.

But Munster quickly reasserted their authority as prop Cronin marked his comeback from injury with two tries in the final 20 minutes, both converted by Rory Scannell.

Zebre: D Berryman; K Van Zyl, T Boni, T Castello, L Greeff; S Bordoli, M Violi; B Postiglioni, O Fabiana, B Le Roux; G Koegelenberg, V Bernabo (capt); M Mbanda, J Meyer, D Minnie.

Replacements: S Tobias, A De Marchi, G Roan, J Furno, F Ruzza, C Engelbrecht, M Pratichetti, G Palazzani.

Munster: A Conway; D Sweetnam, J Taute, R Scannell, R O'Mahony; T Bleyendaal, D Williams; D Kilcoyne, N Scannell, J Ryan; D O'Callaghan, B Holland (capt); P O'Mahony, T O'Donnell, J O'Donoghue.

Replacements: R Marshall, J Cronin, S Archer, D O'Shea, C Oliver, A Lloyd, D Johnston, D Goggin.

Top Stories