Pro12: Munster 10-7 Glasgow

James Cronin scored a try for Munster inside the opening five minutes
James Cronin got an early try as Munster beat Glasgow for the fourth time this season
Pro12: Munster v Glasgow
Munster (7) 10
Try: Cronin Con: T Bleyendaal Pen: R Scannell
Glasgow (0) 7
Try: Hogg Con: Russell

Munster moved to within two points of Pro12 leaders Leinster with a win which effectively ended Glasgow's outside chances of reaching the play-offs.

Prop James Cronin got the opening try in the fifth minute as Munster made a strong start to the match in Cork

Munster extended the lead to 10 through a Rory Scannell penalty.

But Glasgow revived their hopes when Stuart Hogg got a favourable bounce to his own kick-on to score the visitors' try in the 69th minute.

Glasgow turned down chances to draw the game from penalties, opting to go for the win they needed.

Midway through the second half, the Irish side thought they had scored again but the TV review showed winger Ronan O'Mahony had lost control of the ball at the last moment.

Although not mathematically impossible, the defeat realistically means the 2015 winners are out of contention for the end-of-season play-offs as they are 11 points off a top-four place.

The early try came after Munster made a strong start, penning Glasgow back deep in their own half, and Cronin marked his 80th appearance for the hosts by just making the line.

Glasgow rallied and mounted a series of raids on the Munster defence but could not find a way through.

And, when the visitors got it back to 10-7 with 10 minutes still to play, they forced Munster into some last-ditch defending.

The sixth-placed Warriors failed to get the score, leaving their play-off hopes hanging by a thread.

For Munster, a home Pro12 semi-final is within their grasp as they are now seven points clear of the third-placed Ospreys.

Munster: Conway, Sweetnam, Saili, Taute, R. O'Mahony, Bleyendaal, Williams, Cronin, Marshall, Archer, D. O'Callaghan, B. Holland, Deysel, Oliver, O'Donoghue.

Replacements: Zebo for R. O'Mahony (75), R. Scannell for Bleyendaal (9), Kilcoyne for Cronin (44), J. Ryan for Archer (50), P. O'Mahony for Deysel (44), D. Ryan for O'Donoghue (54), N Scannell for Marshall 49.

Not used: Lloyd.

Glasgow: Hogg, Seymour, Grigg, Dunbar, L. Jones, Russell, Price, Reid, Brown, Puafisi, Alainu-uese, Gray, Harley, Wilson, Ashe.

Replacements: Hughes for Grigg (62), P. Horne for Dunbar (18), Pyrgos for Price (71), Allan for Reid (54), MacArthur for Brown (22), Rae for Puafisi (46), Cummings for Alainu-uese (68), Fusaro for Wilson (54).

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)

Top Stories