England name eight uncapped players to face Barbarians, Chris Robshaw and George Ford to captain

Eddie Jones
England coach Eddie Jones has named eight new players for Sunday's match against the Barbarians
England v Barbarians
Venue: Twickenham Date: Sunday, 28 May Kick-off: 15:00 BST
Coverage: Watch highlights on BBC Two at 00:00 BST on Monday 29 May.

Chris Robshaw and George Ford will co-captain an England squad featuring eight uncapped players against the Barbarians at Twickenham on Sunday.

It will be the first time Robshaw, 30, will captain England since standing down after exiting the 2015 World Cup.

"Chris will look after the forwards and defence, George the backs and attack," said England coach Eddie Jones.

"With so many younger players there we need co-captains rather than just one guy responsible for everything."

Bath-bound flanker Sam Underhill will make his England bow, with Saracens' Nick Isiekwe and Charlie Ewels paired at lock. Leicester prop Ellis Genge will pack down with Worcester's Jack Singleton and Harlequins' Will Collier.

Saracens full-back Alex Goode will line-up against England after being added to the Barbarians squad on Tuesday.

The 29-year-old, who made the last of his 21 England Test appearances against Fiji in November, said: "It will be odd, I will probably be humming along to the anthem.

"I'm not giving up at all. It's a dream to play for England."

Starting England team to face Barbarians:

Mike Brown (Harlequins, 60 caps), Nathan Earle (Saracens, uncapped), Sam James (Sale Sharks, uncapped), Alex Lozowski (Saracens, uncapped), Jonny May (Gloucester, 25 caps), George Ford (Bath, 35 caps), Danny Care (Harlequins, 71 caps), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap), Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors, uncapped). Will Collier (Harlequins, uncapped), Charlie Ewels (Bath, 3 caps), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, uncapped), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 55 caps), Sam Underhill (Bath, uncapped), Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks, uncapped).


George McGuigan (Leicester Tigers, uncapped), Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks, uncapped), Jamal Ford-Robinson (Bristol, uncapped), Tom Ellis (Bath, uncapped), Ben Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 27 caps), Mike Haley (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

Barbarians squad

Alex Goode (Saracens & England), Horacio Agulla (Castres & Argentina), Adam Ashley-Cooper (Bordeaux Begles & Australia), Yann David (Toulouse and France), Kahn Fotuali'i (Bath Rugby & Samoa), Robbie Freuan (Bath Rugby), Rory Kockott (Castres & France), Ian Madigan (Bordeaux Begles & Ireland), Timoci Nagusa (Montpellier & Fiji), Waisea Nayacalavu (Stade Francais & Fiji), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster & South Africa), David Smith (Castres), Frans Steyn (Montpellier & South Africa), Patricio Albacete (Toulouse & Argentina), Steffon Armitage (Pau & England), Schalk Brits (Saracens & South Africa), Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse & France), Corey Flynn (Star RFC & New Zealand), Ben Franks (London Irish & New Zealand), Gillian Galan (Toulouse), Richard Hibbard (Gloucester & Wales), Facundo Isa (Lyon & Argentina), Census Johnston (Toulouse & Samoa), Mikheil Nariashvili (Montpellier & Georgia), WP Nel (Edinburgh & Scotland), Mike Ross (Leinster & Ireland), Joe Tekori (Toulouse & Samoa), Jeremy Thrush (Gloucester & New Zealand).

Top Stories