World Rugby Under-20s: England 34-22 Wales

Wales number eight Aled Ward charges at the England defence
Wales number eight Aled Ward charges at the England defence
World Rugby Under-20 Championship
England (24) 34
Tries: Clegg, Ibitoye 2, Mitchell Cons: Malins 4 Pen: Malins Drop-goal: Malins
Wales (10) 22
Tries: Assiratti, penalty try, Goodchild Con: Robson Pen: Robson

Wales Under-20 suffered a second defeat at World Rugby's Junior Championship as holders England proved too powerful.

Wales fly-half Arwel Robson opened the scoring with a penalty before Justin Clegg's try put England ahead.

Gabriel Ibitoye added a brace and Kieron Assiratti replied before the break in Tbilisi, Georgia.

A penalty try boosted Welsh hopes, but Alex Mitchell's try and fly-half Ian Malins' kicking ensured England's win before Joe Goodchild's late Wales try.

England rose above Australia to top Pool A with their group stage decider to come on Thursday, 8 June.

Wales will face Samoa earlier in the day with both teams aiming to avoid being bottom of the group.

Wales' tournament began with 24-17 defeat by Australia in Pool A while England started with a 74-14 win over Samoa.

Australia beat Samoa 33-26 earlier on Sunday.

There are three pools of four teams in the competition being held in Georgia.

Each of the teams will leave with a ranking via play-offs on Tuesday, 13 June and the finals day on Sunday, 18 June.

Wales U20: Will Talbot-Davies (Newport Gwent Dragons); Jared Rosser (Dragons), Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets), Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets); Arwel Robson (Dragons), Dane Blacker (Blues); Rhys Carre (Blues), Ellis Shipp (Dragons), Kieron Assiratti (Blues), Will Griffiths (Ospreys), Sean Moore (Pontypridd), Shane Lewis-Hughes (Blues), Will Jones (Ospreys, capt), Aled Ward (Blues).

Replacements: Owen Hughes (Dragons), Tom Mably (Blues), Stef Thomas (Scarlets), Callum Bradbury (Blues), James Botham (Blues), Reuben Morgan-Williams (Ospreys), Ben Jones (Blues), Joe Goodchild (Dragons).

England U20: Tom Parton (London Irish); Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins), Max Wright (Yorkshire Carnegie), . Theo Brophy Clews (London Irish), Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins); Max Malins (Saracens, capt), Harry Randall (Gloucester Rugby); Ralph Adams-Hale (Saracens), Henry Walker (Gloucester Rugby), Ciaran Knight (Gloucester), Jack Nay (Saracens), Justin Clegg (Worcester Warriors), Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby), Ben Earl (Saracens), Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby).

Replacements: Joe Mullis (Gloucester Rugby), Ollie Dawe (Bristol Rugby), Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs), Josh Caulfield (Exeter Chiefs), Max Davies (Newcastle Falcons), Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints), Jacob Umaga (Wasps), Will Butler (Worcester Warriors).

Top Stories