British and Irish Lions: Johnny Sexton and Owen Farrell start in second Test

Farrell and Sexton impressed together in the final quarter of the first Test
England's Owen Farrell, left, and Ireland's Johnny Sexton impressed together in the final quarter of the first Test
Second Test: New Zealand v British and Irish Lions
Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington Date: Saturday, 1 July Kick-off: 08:35 BST
Coverage: Live text commentary on the BBC Sport website and app

Johnny Sexton and Owen Farrell will start together for the British and Irish Lions in the second Test against New Zealand in Wellington.

Sexton comes in at fly-half with Farrell at inside centre, the first time the combination has started in New Zealand.

Captain Sam Warburton replaces Peter O'Mahony on the blind-side flank, with Maro Itoje preferred to George Kruis.

Robbie Henshaw and George North have been ruled out of the rest of the tour.

Media playback is not supported on this device

'Most nervous' selection wait for Warburton

Ireland centre Henshaw (pectoral) and Wales wing North (hamstring) were injured in the 31-31 draw against the Hurricanes in Wellington and will return home after Saturday's match.

Wales second row Alun Wyn Jones keeps his place in the starting XV despite a difficult outing in the first Test, and strong midweek performances from Courtney Lawes and Iain Henderson having given Lions head coach Warren Gatland "food for thought".

Lawes, CJ Stander and Jack Nowell are among the replacements after playing in the midweek draw with the Hurricanes on Tuesday.

Ken Owens, Jack McGrath, Kyle Sinckler, Rhys Webb and Ben Te'o also make the bench.

Lions team

The Lions lost the series opener 30-15 in Auckland, with Lions boss Gatland citing a lack of physicality in the forwards, which he has sought to address with the inclusion of Saracens lock Itoje and Cardiff Blues flanker Warburton.

"You have to make the tough calls," Gatland said.

"We saw Maro's impact in the first Test and he will bring an edge and a physicality, as will Sam Warburton in terms of pressure on the ball."

But while those changes were expected, Gatland has been reluctant to field Sexton and Farrell in the same midfield in the tour matches.

"Both have played well and it gives us that attacking option in the 10-12 channel," Gatland continued.

"We created opportunities in the first Test and there were a few that we didn't finish."

New Zealand have made two changes - Waisake Naholo comes in on the wing and Anton Lienert-Brown at outside centre.

They replace injured pair Ben Smith (concussion) and Ryan Crotty (hamstring).

Gatland defends Jones selection

Alun Wyn Jones
Jones captained the Lions to victory in the third Test against Australia in 2013

Experienced Welshman Jones retains his place in the second row and will partner England's Itoje, who was selected ahead of countryman George Kruis.

"It's a big game for him," Gatland said of Jones.

"He was a bit disappointed with last week and how it went.

"He's pretty focused and pretty motivated. Normally in the past when he's had those sort of challenges he has really fronted the next game.

"He's trained well this week and I think he's looking forward to Saturday night."

'I would never target someone'

Media playback is not supported on this device

Steve Hansen and Warren Gatland play down 'hostility' claims

Following the first Test defeat, Gatland accused Jerome Kaino of targeting Lions scrum-half Conor Murray, something the New Zealand flanker denies.

"I never go into a game thinking that I am going to target someone and intentionally hurt them," Kaino said.

Gatland was then caricatured as a clown in the New Zealand Herald after his claims while All Blacks boss Steve Hansen described the Lions coach's comments as "desperate".

The Lions lost a 14-point lead as they drew with the Hurricanes in their final midweek match.

British and Irish Lions: L Williams, A Watson, J Davies, O Farrell, E Daly, J Sexton, C Murray; M Vunipola, J George, T Furlong, M Itoje, AW Jones, S Warburton (c), S O'Brien, T Faletau.

Replacements: K Owens, J McGrath, K Sinckler, C Lawes, CJ Stander, R Webb, B Te'o, J Nowell.

Top Stories