Premiership: London Irish 39-29 Harlequins

Topsy Ojo
London Irish's Topsy Ojo played two international matches for England in 2008
Aviva Premiership
London Irish (21) 39
Tries: Ojo, Bell, Treviranus, McKibbin Cons: Bell 2 Pens: Bell 5
Harlequins (10) 29
Tries: Marchant, Yarde, Care, Walker Cons: Smith, Catrakilis 2 Pen: Smith

London Irish made a winning return to the Premiership with a bonus-point victory over Harlequins at Twickenham.

Tries from Topsy Ojo and Tommy Bell gave Irish an 18-3 lead, before Joe Marchant pulled one back for Quins.

In a thrilling match Ofisa Treviranus crossed for Irish, but Marland Yarde and Danny Care kept Quins in the game.

There was a frantic finish as Charlie Walker's try brought Harlequins to within three points, before Brendan McKibbin's late try sealed Irish's win.

As well as scoring a try, Bell also kicked a further 19 points as Irish secured a hard-fought win in their first league match after winning promotion from the Championship last season.

Harlequins were left rueing their ill-discipline as they twice had to play with only 14 players, with Demetri Catrakilis and Mike Brown shown yellow cards.

Both offences proved crucial with Treviranus scoring while Catrakilis was off the pitch before McKibbin's last-minute try came without Brown on the field.

London Irish director of rugby Nick Kennedy said: "Overall I am very pleased with the performance but there is a lot to learn, some errors that cost us, so a lot to take away from that game.

"We're not getting carried away. One game means nothing, we've got a lot to do to properly earn people's respect."

Harlequins director of rugby John Kingston said: "It's really frustrating. To a degree we did enough to win the match.

"We played some good rugby and scored four tries, but time and time again we didn't put ourselves in a position to control the game and that cost us. It was like pushing water up a hill at points.

"We have to learn to control our discipline in those situations. The two yellow cards cost us severely."

London Irish: Bell; Lewington, Hearn, Mulchrone, Ojo; Marshall, Steele; Hobbs-Awoyemi, Paice (capt), Du Plessis, van der Merwe, De Chaves, Coman, Cowan, Treviranus.

Replacements: Porecki, Reid, Franks, McNally, Gilsenan, McKibbin, Tonks, Tikoirotuma.

Harlequins: Brown; Yarde, Marchant, Roberts, Walker; Smith, Care; Marler, Buchanan, Collier, Glynn, Horwill (capt), Robshaw, Ward, Clifford.

Replacements: Gray, Lambert, Sinckler, Merrick, Luamanu, Mulchrone, Catrakilis, Stanley.

Top Stories