Pro14: Munster 49-6 Dragons

Media playback is not supported on this device

Scrum V Pro14 highlights: Munster 49-6 Dragons
Pro14: Munster v Dragons
Munster (14) 49
Tries: R Scannell, Zebo, O'Donoghue, Sweetnam, Arnold 2, O'Byrne Cons: Hanrahan 7
Dragons (3) 6
Pens: O'Brien 2

Munster ran in seven tries to crush Dragons with JJ Hanrahan converting all seven scores in Friday's Pro14 mis-match in Cork.

Rory Scannell and Simon Zebo tries left it 14-3 at half time with Jack O'Donoghue and Darren Sweetnam wrapping up the bonus point before the hour.

Replacement Sam Arnold crossed twice in the final quarter with Kevin O'Byrne also crashing over late on.

Angus O'Brien landed a penalty in each half for the uncompetitive Dragons.

Munster stay second in Conference A behind runaway leaders Glasgow while Dragons are second from bottom in Conference B with just two wins from eight outings.

Former Ulster academy prospect Sam Arnold romped in for Munster's fifth try against Dragons on Friday night
Former Ulster academy prospect Sam Arnold romped in for Munster's fifth try against Dragons on Friday night

Both teams made 10 changes in response to disappointing derby defeats by Connacht and Ospreys respectively.

Playmaker Hanrahan teed up Rory Scannell for Munster's opening try in the 22nd minute.

O'Brien got Dragons on the scoreboard two minutes later but Simon Zebo went over in the corner for his 57th try for the province, Hanrahan again nailing a difficult touchline conversion.

In front of a crowd of 8,008, O'Brien's early second-half penalty briefly gave the visitors hope by reducing the deficit to 14-6 but from there, Munster were relentless scoring five unanswered tries.

Munster: Zebo; Sweetnam, Farrell, Scannell, Wootton; Hanrahan, Williams; O'Connor, Marshall, Archer; Kleyn, Holland (capt); O'Donoghue, Cloete, Copeland.

Replacements: O'Byrne, Cronin, Scott, O'Shea, Flanagan, Hart, Keatley, Arnold.

Dragons: Talbot-Davies; Hewitt, Warren, Dixon, Rosser; O'Brien, C Davies; T Davies, Ellis, Fairbrother; J Davies, Landman; Wainwright, Benjamin, Sheekey.

Replacements: Belcher, Garrett, Harris, Andrews, Roach, Pretorius, Robson, Howard.

Top Stories