Pro14: Connacht 23-15 Cheetahs

Jack Carty and Johan Coetzee
Connacht's Jack Carty is tackled by Johan Coetzee of the Cheetahs
Pro14: Connacht v Cheetahs
Connacht (13) 23
Tries: Adeolokun, McCartney Cons: Ronaldson, Carty Pens: Ronaldson 2, Crosbie
Cheetahs (3) 15
Tries: Venter, Mapimpi Con: Zeilinga Pens: Stapelberg

Connacht secured their fourth win in a row in all competitions by beating the Cheetahs 23-15 in Saturday's Pro14 game at the Sportsground in Galway.

The win moves fourth-placed Connacht to within four points of the Cheetahs above them in Conference A.

Niyi Adeolokun's try on his first start of the season after a knee injury helped Connacht lead 13-3 at half-time.

Tom McCartney crossed in the second half, with Shaun Venter and Makazole Mapimpi scoring for the South Africans.

Ireland winger Adelokun marked his return to action since undergoing knee surgery with a scintillating solo try in the 12th minute as he burned past Luther Obi and Fred Zeilinga to touch down behind the posts.

Ernst Stapelberg's late first-half penalty opened the South Africans' account, in response to Craig Ronaldson's eight points off the tee, before McCartney's 48th-minute try to the left of the posts had Connacht 17 points clear.

The Cheetahs hit back with final quarter tries from replacement Venter and Mapimpi - his eighth of the campaign - but Steve Crosbie's 73rd-minute penalty guided the westerners to victory.

Venter shrugged off Matt Healy's attempted tackle for a 40-metre run to the whitewash while the jet-heeled Mapimpi finished brilliantly on the left after Reniel Hugo's quick tap penalty.

Connacht: T O'Halloran, D Leader, T Farrell, C Ronaldson, N Adeolokun, J Carty, C Blade; D Buckley, T McCartney, F Bealham; Q Roux, J Cannon; E Masterson, E McKeon, J Muldoon (capt).

Replacements: D Heffernan, D Coulson, C Carey, G Thornbury, N Dawai, C McKeon, S Crosbie, M Healy.

Cheetahs: F Zeilinga, L Obi, T Kruger, N Lee, M Stapelberg, T Meyer; O Niche, T Van Jaarsveld (capt), J Coetzee, C Wegner, H Reniel, P Schoeman, J Wiese, J Pokomela.

Replacements: J Dweba, C Marais, T Botha, D Visser, R Bernardo, Z Mkhabela, A Mgijima, S Venter.

Top Stories