Pro14: Ospreys 13-19 Munster - Late Haley try seals win for visitors

Ospreys' Hanno Dirksen in action against Munster
Ospreys' defeat was their fifth successive loss in all competitions
Pro14: Ospreys v Munster
Ospreys (10) 13
Try: Dirksen Cons: Price Pens: Price 2
Munster (14) 19
Try: Sweetnam, Penalty Try, Haley Con: Hanrahan

Ospreys' Pro14 play-off hopes suffered a further blow as they were beaten at home by Conference A leaders Munster.

Allen Clarke's side secured a losing bonus point and had chances but failed to create much in attack and did not capitalise on Munster errors.

Darren Sweetnam and a penalty try ensured Munster led at the break with Ospreys having responded through Hanno Dirksen.

Mike Haley's late try secured victory to keep Munster on top.

Sweetnam crossed for his fourth try of the season to give the visitors the lead after early pressure with JJ Hanrahan adding the extras.

Ma’afu Fia of Osprey
Ospreys next face Connacht in the Pro14 on 2 March

But Ospreys responded and, following good work from Keelan Giles, Dirksen crossed for a try, which referee Stuart Berry awarded following consultation with TMO Ian Davies.

Luke Price, starting in place of the injured Sam Davies, brought Ospreys level with a successful conversion.

Price's penalty put Ospreys ahead for the first time but the home side were dealt a double blow four minutes before the interval.

Sam Cross was shown a yellow card for deliberately stopping a try-scoring opportunity and Munster were awarded a penalty try.

Price's second penalty of the game brought Ospreys to within a point of Munster after 62 minutes.

But seven minutes later full-back Haley's try sealed victory for Munster.

Ospreys coach Allen Clarke said: "We showed tremendous character and tremendous fight and showed quality in our attack at times.

"But our own accuracy let us down in key moments under pressure.

"Equally I was as disappointed in how the game was officiated. I felt, and our boys felt, that there was only one team that the referee communicated with."

Ospreys: Evans; Dirksen, Allen, Thomas-Wheeler, Giles; Price, Aubrey; Lay, Baldwin, Botha, King, Davies, Cracknell (capt), Cross, McCusker.

Replacements: Otten, Jenkins, Fia, Ashley, Griffiths, Morgan-Williams, Hook, Morgan.

Munster: Haley; Nash, Goggin, Taute, Sweetnam; Hanrahan, Cronin; Loughman, Marshall, Archer; Kleyn, Holland (capt); Wycherley, Cloete, Botha.

Replacements: O'Byrne, O'Connor, Parker, O'Shea, O'Donoghue, Mathewson, Johnston, R Scannell.

Referee: Stuart Berry (SARU)

Assistant referees: Adam Jones (WRU), Manuel Bottino (FIR)

TMO: Ian Davies (WRU)

For the latest Welsh rugby news follow @BBCScrumVexternal-link on Twitter.

Top Stories